A Plump Waffle Filled Kelley

In case anyone was wondering, I was true to my word.  I did make my husband breakfast this morning.  We had some waffles and I thought maybe you would like to have the recipe so we could be matching waffle-eating buddies.  So here goes.

 

This recipe comes from Coach Nicole and is aptly named, “Coach Nicole’s Pumpkin & Apple Waffles”.  The waffles are a little more bready and thick than normal waffles, but I think it is because they meet the new fat/fiber ratio that the husband and I have now converted to. This ratio being fat < fiber.  We have to keep ourselves healthy in our old age you know.

 

I found the recipe over at Sparkrecipes.com which is a recipe site I love because you can see all the nutritional information for each recipe that you find.  It’s pretty much great.  Without further ado:

 

Coach Nicole’s Pumpkin & Apple Waffles

Ingredients

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1.5 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 organic eggs

2 Tbsp organic cane sugar (or brown sugar)

1/2 cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)

1 medium apple of choice, finely chopped and divided

 

First make sure you have all of the ingredients you need.  There is nothing more horrible than getting halfway through a recipe and realizing you are missing a key ingredient.  Well, there are more horrible things… like tripping on your face in front of a crowd of people, or coming home at 7PM to find that you have a piece of spinach in your front teeth from that omelet you had for breakfast… Wow getting off track.  Just make sure you have all the stuff you need okay?  And check your teeth.

 

Now that you are sure you have everything, place all those dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl like so.  Now mix them up real nice.

Next, combine the sugar and the eggs (Or in our case cholesterol free egg substitute (Yea for happy hearts!).

 

Now, add the dry mix to the wet one.  It will be pretty thick at this point just like it looks in the picture above.  If you start asking yourself, “My word, am I making waffle batter or cookie dough?!” you are doing it right (that is, as long as I did it right).

 

Now, add in the pumpkin and half of those yummy apples.  I used peaches instead of apples because, well we had peaches and the store is a whole two minutes from our house, so that wasn’t happening.  Next time however I would definitely use apples as I think they would keep their texture better than the peaches.

Okay, this is the part where things might seem strange; that batter is still thicker than you thought it would be huh?  Yea, these are going to be much fatter waffles than you are used to.  So instead of pouring the batter into the waffle maker, just scoop up about ¼ – ½ cup of the stuff and plop it in there.  The waffles will have a smaller circumference than you are likely used to, but they make up for it by being super fat (I hope this doesn’t sound offensive to the poor waffles).  Whatever you do, don’t add extra water… trust me and learn from my mistake with my second waffle… it won’t help…

Now, add the rest of your apple pieces and any other yummy waffle toppings that you so desire and eat up.

-A plump waffle filled Kelley

Leave a Reply

