The Tricky Trickster Potato Cooking Kelley

Today I succeeded at sticking to my guns and following the menu plan for today even though there were a few minutes when I really didn’t want to.

My husband had to take a long drive to pick up something for work this evening, so I decided to be a nice wife and accompany him so as to keep him from being bored to death.  He can be pretty boring on his own, and hello, I am obviously the life of any party (This is 100% sarcasm, which I know can be hard to pick up on in type, but your about to find out just how lame I really am.).  So, I drove down with him, and it took me all of about… 1/2 to fall completely asleep.  Yea, I’m pretty much like a 6 month old.  If you want to make me fall asleep just plop me in the car and let the rhythm of the road do its work.

Anyways, this was a problem because by the time we got home I really should have started dinner… but I was sleepy… so I slept.  For 1 1/2 hours… Whoops.  When I finally did awake from my slumber I found that it was well past time for dinner and I hadn’t even started making it yet… My first thought?  Order out!  My second thought?  NO!

I had made the menu plan and we were going to stick with it.  No more spending extra money just cause I am lazy, even if that means eating dinner at 8:30 😉

So, here is the recipe for the triumph I successfully completely this evening.  The original recipe can be found www.howsweeteats.com.

Roasted Potato Salad

serves 4-6

2 medium sweet potatoes or yams, peeled and chopped

10 small yukon gold potatoes, quartered

1 pound of fresh green beans

2 heads of garlic

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

2 tablespoons parmesan cheese

3 tablespoons fresh dill

First preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.

After that, chop up all those yummy potatoes (both sweet and regular) and green beans.  Then toss them in a bowl with the olive oil (I did not use quite as much as the recipe called for).

Next, place the veggie mix on an un-greased nonstick baking sheet.  Then, chop the tops off of the garlic so all of the cloves are exposed (you don’t have to peel it or anything like that).  Dip the tops of the garlic in the oil that is left over from the potato/green bean bowl, and place the garlic top side up on the baking sheet with the other veggies.

Bake the potato mix for about 25 minutes.  Then flip everything over and bake for about 15 – 20 more minutes. This is what it should look like when it is all done… that is if I did it right 😉

When the potato mix is almost finished, mix the remaining ingredients in a small bowl.

After you take out the potato mixture, let it cool for a bit.  Then, when you are able to touch the garlic without burning your little fingers, squeeze the garlic cloves from each head of garlic into the small bowl with the cheese mixture (The cloves should come out fairly easily.).  Using a fork, mash that garlic up and mix it with the other ingredients that are already in the bowl.

Now, put the cheesy garlic mixture in a bowl with the potato green bean mix and stir it all together.  Now, it is time for you to eat!

According to the husband, this was a pretty yummy dish.  Here are a few of my favorite quotes from him during the meal:

“Wow, this looks nice… and it tastes good.”  The surprise in his voice should show what a wonderful cook I am (again, sarcasm).

“Look, I’m eating green beans, and they’re good.”  If this dish can make Josh eat green beans, it can make even the most picky of children eat green beans.

“Hiding sweet potatoes with real potatoes… That is tricky.”  Yup, that’s me… a tricky trickster.  He really had no idea there were sweet potatoes in this until after the meal was all eaten up.  He asked me what that “kick” of sweet flavor was haha.  I guess it is good that they are not too sweet and overpowering.

Well, that’s all for now.  I hope you enjoyed your evening and you got to cook up something nice as well.

-The Tricky Trickster Potato Cooking Kelley

5 thoughts on “The Tricky Trickster Potato Cooking Kelley

  1. so, I made this today. AND, Bri had a friend over. When the meal was complete, Bri says to her friend,”Hey you ate the carrots!” lol… Sneaky trick big sis! Bri ate it lol… never knowing they were the evil dreaded yams lol.

Leave a Reply

