The Banana Strawberry Baker Kelley

Today my husband’s parents and brothers came to stay with us.  They live out in MO, and it is their first time staying with us here in our house in AZ.  I know long early morning flights can be grueling (I usually try to sleep, then I can’t, so I just stay sleepy, and my ears won’t pop, and I get mad mixed with sleepy, then I may or may not cry.  I’m NOT a good flyer.) so I wanted to have a breakfast treat ready for them when they arrived.  I decided it would be a good time to test out the awesome recipe I found for banana-strawberry muffins.

The original recipe can be found here, but I read the comments and made some changes based on the health needs of our household.  Without further ado, I give you Mimi’s Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins.

Mimi’s Giant Whole-Wheat Banana-Strawberry Muffins

Ingredients

1/2 cup egg substitute (or just 2 normal eggs if you eat them)
1/2 cup unsweetened plain non-fat yogurt
1/4 cup apple sauce
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 bananas, mashed
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon  and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
7 strawberries, mashed

Directions

First, preheat that oven to 375 degrees F.

Now that you have done that, peel those old bananas that have been sitting on your counter for about a week… I know, you were going to eat them but you never got around to it and now they are brown.  It’s okay, that means they are now perfect to use in this recipe.  See, you knew what you were doing letting them get brown ;).

Now put ’em in a bowl and smash them up real nice!

In the same bowl, mix the egg substitute (or just eggs), yogurt, applesauce, brown sugar, and vanilla.  Sadly, I didn’t realize until it was too late that we were out of applesauce.  You can always use oil as a substitute though, it will just add some extra unwanted fat.

In a new bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, nutmeg, and cinnamon.

Now, add the dry ingredients to the wet ones.  Mix it until everything is moist and it looks like the picture above.

Cut the tops off of those 7 strawberries.  Don’t bother slicing them, just throw them in a small bowl and mash them up.  You can really get some aggression out while making these muffins!

Add the mashed strawberries to the batter and combine to make sure the strawberries are evenly distributed throughout the batter.  It would be so sad if one poor person ate a muffin with no strawberries in it while everyone else was enjoying the ruby red beauties.

Spoon the batter into greased muffin tins.  Stay with me here.  You need to fill each cup ALL THE WAY.  I know you usually don’t (and if you do it they usually overflow and cause a huge mess), but trust me, it will be okay.

Now, put those lovelies in the oven at 375 for 20 minutes.

See, I told you everything would turn out okay.  Now enjoy your yummy creation!  We sure did 🙂

-The Banana Strawberry Baker Kelley

P.S. I use Spark Recipe Calculator to find nutritional info on recipes that I make.  Feel free to play around with the recipe and find your own nutritional info using that site.  I don’t know how accurate it is, so don’t quote me on this, but I put in all the ingredients for this recipe (*This is using applesauce like I will do from now on, not oil) and here is the info:

The recipe should make 12 muffins, so one muffin is a serving.  Low in fat, high in fiber, and yummy!

Leave a Reply

