The Smug Jean Dancing Kelley

Sorry about posting yesterday’s stuff today.  That will likely be the way things are for the next week or so.  We’ve got family staying with us, and since the hubs and I are busy working during the day, we are using the evenings as our hanging out time.  Hence the no bloging in the evenings.

Yesterday everyone arrived and we planned on having a nice relaxing evening in.  For a nice laid back night, I planned a nice laid back outfit.

Top: Thrifted – Jeans: Thrifted – Belt: Thrifted   Shoes: Target – Necklace: Forever 21

In this outfit is another one of my thrifting treasures.  I don’t even know if they are cool anymore, but when I was in high school all I wanted were a pair of True Religion jeans.  I went to high school in an area where all the girls had at least 5 pairs of these jeans, a Gucci wallet, and at least 2 or 3 Louis Vuitton purses which they probably kept in their walk-in closets in their big bedrooms (that they were not sharing with anyone) in their million dollar homes.  I however was shopping at thriftstores for clothing that I would keep in the closet, in my bedroom,  at our apartment, which was home to the bunk bed I shared with my sister.  I was completely content with all of this (I was a thrift store shopping grunge nerd who walked through the hallways with headphones on and my eyes fixed on my feet in high school.  A Gucci purse and life in a mansion would have totally ruined my hip grunge vibe obviously)… all of this except for those True Religion jeans… I used to look at pictures of them online and wish I could press the order button, but with price tags close to $200 or more, that was not going to happen.  A couple of weeks ago I found this pair at Goodwill.  You know, same old story.  I saw them, gasped, grabbed them, tried them on while jumping up and down and dancing a bit, and went right to the check out aisle.  My high school self might think I was smug for wearing them… but she would secretly want them… I know her too well, she can’t trick me.

-The Smug Jean Dancing Kelley

4 thoughts on “The Smug Jean Dancing Kelley

  1. girl, i feel you on those girls in high school. it’s like, HOW CAN YOU AFFORD THIS?!
    but you know what? you look great, thrifted or not. i heart the pants and how they fit on you and i love your top and the necklace. 🙂 yay for nights in chilling

  2. I LOVE thrift-store-shopper Kelley! You have like a magical eye for the good stuff. You might like Plato’s Closet – REALLY good second-hand store. Not so nice part of town but it’s worth the drive!

Leave a Reply

