The Shockingly Breezy Businessy Kelley

Meet Virginia Design

Yesterday the hubs and I worked, had a meeting to go to, and then we got to spend time with lots and lots of family (the immediate in-laws who are visiting as well as some extended in-laws who live in town).  Can I just say that I have been blessed with some of the best in-laws ever (not to mention that I was also born into a pretty great family)!  I had the pleasure of being quite close to some of my husband’s extended family before we were even married. They were like family, they were friends… and then I married the hubs and they REALLY became family. It’s pretty much awesome.

Dress: Thrifted – Belt: Thrifted – Shoes: Target   Necklace: Forever 21

Watch out, I am going to say something SHOCKING!  Thrifting seems to have some stigmas attached to it.  You notice too huh?  I think one of the first things that comes to mind when I think of thrifting is grunge/broke high school/college students.  Well, you know what?  Surprise!  You can actually thrift and still look put together.  I know, I’m saying some pretty crazy stuff, but it’s true.  I really do believe that thrifting can fit lots of different styles, not just those too cool for labels teenagers (it’s not talking down towards these people if I used to be one of them right?).

I wear casual fun outfits with thrifted pieces all the time, but you can also put together outfits like the one above that have thrifted pieces and still look professional yet stylish.

I never really know what to wear to work events/meetings.  I feel like I should look “like a grown up”, but then I don’t really feel like I’m being me (When do grown ups start really feeling like grown ups anyway?  Maybe sometime after they stop using the phrase grown ups…).  So, yesterday I wore this little black (thrifted) dress (oh how I love those) and kept it professional with a simple black (thrifted) belt.  But, I still wanted to have fun with the outfit and add some personality to it. Who wants to hire boring “black on black” suit and tie wearing photographers anyway right (I hope I’m right, or I may need to change my work attire philosophy haha)?  So, I added casual sandals, some light purple nail polish, and a fun and breezy hairdo (If I say it’s breezy does it totally negate the breeziness?).

I think it all worked out quite well, and I only had to change three times to decide on this outfit. Pretty good for the 7th day of the thirty for 30 challenge 🙂

-The Shockingly Breezy Businessy Kelley

16 thoughts on “The Shockingly Breezy Businessy Kelley

  1. i’m horrible at thrifting as i have no patience but you look lovely all the time.
    and yay for the nice in-laws that’s such a huge plus 😀

    best part? YOUR HAIR. how do you do that?!? it’s beautiful.

    • Thrifting is kind of an addiction for me, when you find a wonderful piece amongst all the junk, it is heavenly 🙂 And thanks for the compliment on the hair 🙂 My arms felt like they were going to fall off by the time I finished (since it took me 3 times to do it), but I kinda liked it. I posted the tutorial on the next post.

  2. I love your blog! I love the fashion pieces! Dawn Farmer told me about your blog…..I am an inlaw to her Aunt Debby. I would love it if you check out my blog! bradleykrausracing-simplisticbeauty.blogspot.com

  3. Holy amazing hair!! i love it, that dress is also adorable. Thanks for linking up to thriftaholics weekly, hope to see you there this week also 🙂

Leave a Reply

