The Fiberful French Toast Cooking Kelley

Ready for the easiest recipe EVER?  It’s for French toast (those of you who don’t read post titles).

I know you probably think that French toast does not need a recipe, and to be honest, you are probably right.  But here is my thinking process.

  1. I had never made French toast before this morning (SHOCKING!) so I really didn’t know how to do it and I, a very big newbie in the kitchen, kinda needed a recipe.  So maybe somebody else will too.
  2. Breakfast foods always seem fattening and/or full of cholesterol (eggs, cheese, sausage, bacon, hash-browns) which are things that taste REALLY good… but apparently I am not supposed to consume them anymore. Anyone else in these shoes?
  3. Breakfast is supposed to be the most important meal of the day, but I keep skipping it and I need to fix that. Can I get an “amen”?

So, I found this recipe for French toast that uses high fiber bread and egg substitute. Right away I thought, “Gee duh!  Why didn’t I think of that before?”  And I thought perhaps you would have the same reaction, so I wanted to share.

The original recipe can be found here.  It’s another one from spark recipes.com, meaning you can click on that link to find all of the fancy nutritional info if you want to.  The only change I made was adding a dash of nutmeg, and I don’t think that will make a HUGE difference in the nutritional value 🙂  Oh, the original also serves 12, so I took it down to three servings since I’m not cooking for a family of 12 strangely enough.

High Fiber French Toast

Ingredients

3 slices extra fiber whole wheat bread

1/4 cup egg substitute (or one egg for you normal egg eating peeps)

1/8 cup nonfat milk

splash of vanilla

1/4 tsp cinnamon (Let’s be honest I didn’t really measure, I just tapped some in.)

dash of nutmeg

First things first, preheat a skillet on the stove top.

Now, take out a small bowl. To it, add all of the ingredients except for the bread.

Now mix it all up.  Dip the pieces of bread into the bowl one at a time until both sides are fully coated in the egg mixture.

Then, place the bread on your pre-heated skillet one at a time (or two at a time if you have a fancy large skillet I suppose).  Once one side is browned (a few minutes) flip it over and cook the other side until it is brown as well.

When you’re all done you will have a delicious low-fat high-fiber breakfast.

Really, I didn’t know if it would be good with high fiber bread, but it was (and I even used one of those yucky ol’ heels that we all usually just throw away… I’m not the only one that does this right?) The hubs even ate two pieces!

I know it was simple, but sometimes those are the recipes that end up being easy favorites that we keep for life 🙂

-The Fiberful French Toast Cooking Kelley

Leave a Reply

