The Tie Breaker Cooking Kelley

I could tell right after my husband took his first bight of dinner the other night that he did not like it.  Liking always comes with a, “Wow!” or, “This is great!”  Not liking always comes with silence. The conversation went something like this:

Me: You don’t like it?

Husband: What?  I’m eating it.

Me:  Yeah, but that doesn’t mean you like it.

Husband:  It’s colorful… Did you take pictures to put it on your blog?

Me: ….

Husband: It has no sauce.

Me:  I knew you were going to say that.

Husband:  There is a difference between not liking something and wishing it had something extra in it.

Me: I knew you didn’t like it.

When I first met my husband vegetables were really not his thing.  Fortunately for him, I became a vegetarian while we were engaged and he has really grown to like a lot of the veggies he would have preferred not to eat before.  Unfortunately for me and my new diet guidelines (low fat/high fiber according to the doctor) he usually enjoys them when they are covered in cheese and cream based sauces (don’t we all?).

So, why am I posting this recipe if my husband didn’t even like it?  Because, I DO like it.  I love eating fresh veggies and this recipe is FULL of them.  Not to mention there is almost no fat and a HUGE amount of fiber! Also, easiest recipe IN THE WORLD!

So my friends, we have ourselves a tie.  One for and one against this silly recipe.  You shall be the tie breakers.  Try it out and leave me some honest feedback.  If it really is horrible to everyone but me, I don’t want to force the hubs to eat it.  However, if I’m right (which makes the husband wrong) and it really is yummy, then I won’t feel bad making it now and then so we can have a healthy meal.

So, on to the recipe!

The original recipe comes from here (giving credit where it is due), but I changed it a bit to meet our nutritional needs 😉

Easy Veggie Pasta

Ingredients

1/2 Eggplant, peeled and cut into
Small sticks
2 cups Fresh mushrooms (about 8oz), sliced
1 Medium carrot (about 1 cup), chopped
5 cloves Fresh garlic, minced
1 Medium zucchini (about 1 cup), chopped
1 tsp Dried oregano, crushed
1 tsp Dried basil, crushed
Water
4 oz Uncooked high fiber spaghetti (I used SmartTaste)

*** 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese (optional… I did use this for the hubs, but not for me.)

Place pasta into a medium saucepan with water and boil.

Cut up all your veggies.  And note the fact that fresh veggies are one of the most beautiful things in the world. *Sigh…

Put a little water into a LARGE skillet (really, it needs to be big).  Then add the eggplant, mushrooms, carrots and garlic.  Cook over high heat for about 4 minutes.

Add in the zucchini, oregano, and basil (I added in some pepper too).  Cook for about 4 more minutes.

Place the veggie mixture in a bowl on top of a serving of your cooked up noodles and top it off with Parmesan cheese if desired.  That’s it, told you it was easy. Now eat up and agree with me that it is YUMM or be silly and think it needs sauce.

-The Tie Breaker Cooking Kelley

P.S. As with other recipes, I again used the Spark Recipe Calculator to find nutritional info for this meal.  You can change the recipe based on your tastes or the veggies you have available and find your own nutritional info using that site.  Again, I don’t know how accurate it is, but it seems good to me.  Here is the nutritional info I got for this recipe (with cheese AND without cheese):

*Without Parmesan Cheese

*With Parmesan Cheese

 

3 thoughts on “The Tie Breaker Cooking Kelley

  1. I love simple meals. My favorite go to during the summer is pasta with olive oil and fresh parmesan (and add whatever veggies and/or meat). Thanks for the recipe. So easy!
    Van // The Clothes We Wear
    Wearing motherhood with style.

Leave a Reply

