The Redemption Pizza Cooking Kelley

Okay, I’m not going to lie guys… This isn’t going to be the healthiest recipe out there… but it does at least meet our fat < fiber guidelines, and because of the last meal I made I kind of owed it to the hubs (as well as needing to redeem myself as a cook), so I decided to make something extra yummy.

When we really want a treat or we are craving pizza, this is what I make. I don’t usually like homemade pizza (I feel like that is a secret that nobody really talks about.  Homemade pizza is gross.  There, I said it. Let the flogging begin.), but this tastes NOTHING like normal homemade pizza.  Also, it is WAY faster and easier than most homemade pizzas.

The original recipe can be found here and I have to give a HUGE thank you to the creator, because I never would have thought of this one on my own.  However, as usual, I have made some adjustments based on our needs and tastes, so here is my version. Oh, mine is also double the usual recipe because I like leftovers of this, and we don’t drink beer, so I feel bad buying it, using 3/4 cups and chucking the rest.  Waste not beer want not beer… That’s a saying right?

Easy Chewy Pizza

Ingredients

3 c. flour

3 t. baking powder

1/2 t.salt

1 1/2 c. lite beer (We tried non-lite once… don’t try it, it does not work well.)

1 c. spaghetti sauce (I use Prego Veggie Smart because it is low-fat and high fiber.)

1 c. shredded fat free cheddar cheese (Anyone know where I can get my hands on some fat free mozzarella?)

3 T. black olives

1 c. artichoke hearts, quartered

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees!  Don’t forget or you will hit yourself in the head later! Been there, done that, it hurts your head and your hungry belly.

In a medium bowl, mix flour, baking powder, and salt.

Add the beer.

Mix it all together until moist.  It should look like the picture above.

Spray a 9 x 13 pan with cooking spray.  Press the dough in the pan and spread spaghetti sauce over the top of it.

Add cheese and any other desired toppings and place in the preheated oven.  The hubs and I both LOVE artichoke hearts which are high in fiber.  He however, does not like olives at all.  So, his side of the pizza is an olive free zone.  Fine by me, more olives for my side 🙂

After about 25 – 30 minutes (18 – 20 if you are cutting the recipe in half) take it out of the oven, cut it up, and enjoy! We use REAL portion sizes (meaning we eat a lot haha) in this house, so this is about 6 servings for us.  If you like smaller pieces you can probably spread this out between a lot more people.

-The Redemption Pizza Cooking Kelley

P.S. Here is the nutritional info I got after adding the listed ingredients to the Spark Recipe Calculator. As always, this is not gospel, but just what the Internet spit out when I added in a list of ingredients, so keep that in mind.  Also, if you want to change anything up or add different toppings to fit your needs and tastes, feel free to use the site and calculate the nutritional information for your version.

One thought on “The Redemption Pizza Cooking Kelley

  1. Wow it makes so much sense to use beer. That seems like it would make an easy dough crust instead of having to do use yeast and do all that resting and jazz… I think I’ll try it

Leave a Reply

