The Accomplished Kelley


Dress: Thrifted Shirt: Target Belt: Thrifted – Necklace: Forever 21 Shoes: Target

What outfit number is this?  What was that?  I didn’t hear you… Oh yea, THIRTY!  That’s right, the Thirty for 30 Summer 2011 Edition is over for this little blog.  Is it silly that I feel like I have accomplished a huge goal?  Silly or not, this has been pretty huge for me because I have been watching everyone else do it for so long (Yes, I used to be a fashion blog stalker and not at all a joiner inner… that’s a thing.  Joiner inner = opposite of sideline stalker.).

I just want to say a big THANK YOU to Kendi for starting this whole thing and inviting everyone to join in.  And another super big THANK YOU to everyone that followed along on this journey through my closet.  Honestly, it was easier than I thought it would be.  I was expecting to want to rip up all my clothes by day 10, but instead I ended up having a lot of fun remixing all of my items.  I’m not going to lie though, there were a few hard moments along the way.  Still, you guys all made this challenge a million times easier with all of your sweet comments and support.  Here are a few lessons I have learned along the way.

  1. Accessories are SUPER important. A different scarf, necklace, belt, etc. can change the entire feel of an outfit or help you create a whole new one.  I am definitely going to be paying more attention to my accessories in the future and likely invest in some good quality ones since I seem to be lacking in that department.
  2. I need to take better care of my clothes.  For the last 30 days I have only had 30 things to wear, and washing something on the wrong cycle, slurping sauce on a white shirt, and any number of other avoidable blunders quickly made the size of my closet take a nosedive.  I need to be good to the items in my closet so that they will last MUCH MUCH longer, which will good for my bank account and my daily fashion opportunities.
  3. I can live with less. I didn’t shop for clothing or accessories of any kind during this whole challenge, and that was by far the hardest part.  Yet, I learned that I can make so many completely different outfits and dress for a wide variety of occasions while only using about 1/5 of my closet (Totally estimating here, I have no idea how many clothing items are in my closet guys… I’m not Rain man, although the powers he has over numbers would be cool to have.). The resulting realization is that I can live with less… This is one I may need continual reminders of… but it is true.

Now that we are done with all the deep lessons I learned on my journey to find fashion nirvana, remember that brilliant beyond brilliant idea I told you about a while back?  It’s coming and it is going to be pretty exciting!  Stay tuned for that friends 🙂

-The Accomplished Kelley

3 thoughts on “The Accomplished Kelley

  1. Congratulations! Next time the Thirty for 30 happens I think it would be fun to join in. I also like the mix of navy blue and black on your dress. Some people say it’s a no no but I disagree.

Leave a Reply

