The Quiche Cooking Breakfast Loving Kelley

I have always LOVED breakfast for dinner. Or breakfast for lunch.  Or breakfast for breakfast. Or even breakfast for a snack… Pretty much any time I can get breakfast in my belly, I am a happy camper (mmm.. Breakfast while camping might be the best).  However, not being a meat eater and trying to stick to low-fat foods often limits my scrumptious breakfast options.

DARN!  When I realized this, I thought about setting up a revolt against all of those bacon, sausage, and biscuit and gravy pushers… but then I remembered that we are all on the same team.  Or, if you will allow me, the same club. As in… the Breakfast Club… yup, I went there.

Anyways, after I called the troops to stand down, I remembered that my husband recently decided to like eggs, and I recently started using eggbeaters as a great low cholesterol and low fat egg substitute.  It. Was. On.  After searching around blog land for a while, I found this great looking quiche recipe from one of my most favorite recipe blogs.

Now the hubs will NOT eat bell peppers or onions… In fact, I have personally been almost vomited on by said husband when he accidentally bit into an onion in a burger once. And in this case Brandy, almost most certainly counts (Yea, that will be stuck in your head ALL day.  I’m sorry.  Nope, I’m not.  It’s a good song guys.).  I will not feed him onions ever again.

There is also meat and real eggs in her version.  So, after a few tweaks here and there (I’m sure hers is REALLY yummy for folks that eat meat.). I’m pretty sure I got this recipe down to one that we can regularly use in our home.  Have a look see.

Mushroom, Spinach, and Artichoke Quiche

Ingredients (for 6 servings)

1/2 Can artichoke hearts quartered

8 OZ mushrooms, sliced

3/4 Cup frozen spinach

3 Cloves garlic minced

1 Cup egg substitute

1/3 Cup 1% milk

3/4 Cup fat free cheddar cheese, shredded (I use Kraft)

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. pepper

First things first.  Preheat that oven to 350 degrees.

Now, rinse off those mushrooms really well and place them in a skillet with a little bit of water. Cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes.

The mushrooms should now look a bit darker and they have likely given off some yummy juices.  This is the time to add in your minced garlic.

After about 2 – 3 minutes, add in the frozen spinach.

Give the spinach about 2 – 3 minutes and then add in those SUPER yummy artichoke hearts. Let that all cook together for about 5 minutes, adding a little extra water now and then if it is needed.

In a medium bowl mix together the egg substitute, milk, salt, and pepper.

Next, add in the cheese and mix that together too.

Now, add the veggie mixture to the egg mixture.  Mix it evenly through.

Once everything is all mixed together, it is time to carefully pour it into a lightly greased 9 inch pie pan.  Then, place the pan in your preheated oven (You remembered to preheat the oven to 350 degrees right?) for about 35 – 40 minutes.  Mine took close to 40 minutes, but I started watching it around 30 just in case.  The key is to make sure the middle of the quiche is set and not watery.  When it looks stable, it’s done!

Finally, take your quiche out of the oven and marvel at its beauty.  But don’t eat it yet.  Give it about 5 minutes to cool and completely set.

After a little bit of cooling time, slice that baby up and enjoy your breakfast, no matter what time of day it may be.

-The Quiche Cooking Breakfast Loving Kelley

P.S.  I LOVE the spark recipe calculator! And while I can’t guarantee that it is 100% fool proof, I know that it is nice to get an idea of the nutritional information for the meals I cook at home.  Here it what the site told me after I entered in the ingredients for this recipe.


One thought on “The Quiche Cooking Breakfast Loving Kelley

  1. Looks delicious Kelley! I made a quiche with potatoes and spinach in it a couple months ago. It was really good, I definitiely suggest it.

Leave a Reply

