The Sweet Low-Fat Lemon Cake Cooking Kelley

Doesn’t that look good?!  We’ll talk about this later 😉

First of all, this was not the post that I was planing on putting up on the ‘ol blog this morning.  The problem is I’m a little slow on the uptake and I forgot that Everybody Everywhere always puts their monthly challenges up on Tuesdays… and Tuesdays are NOT Monday… Whoops.  So, look out for that fun pattern mixing post tomorrow.  I am excited (obviously a little too excited as I tried to get ready a day early) to see how everybody mixes up their prints as this is one of my FAVORITE fashion trends right now.

Anywho, rather than leave you postless (I know that my blog is like coffee to you on a Monday morning isn’t it?  No, no it isn’t…) I decided to share with you a little treat that I made this weekend to give your week a sweet start 🙂

I have recently set up a budget for our household that requires that we eat out and spend lots less money overall in the food department.  Being able to be home and cook our meals is a HUGE deal for me and I am very grateful.  But too often the hubs and I find ourselves craving snacks and sweets.  This is the time when we want to go to the store and buy everything in sight that may tame the hungry food monsters that live in our bellies.  But then I remind the husband that we already spent our grocery budget for the week, he pouts, and then he tells me that he doesn’t like being an orphan and he wants a treat.

So, when this happened this weekend I turned to Pinterest for a solution (because it may just be the solution to everything).  Thankfully I found this, which originally came from the wonderful recipe blog Craving Chronicles.

And thankfully, because we are no longer eating take out and frozen pizza every night… anymore, I now buy real groceries every week so I already had everything that I needed to make this recipe.  I altered it a bit of course to make it and little healthier and therefore fit our needs.  All said and done this treat has less than 1/2 gram of fat per serving!  So without further ado:

Low-Fat Lemon Cake

1 5/8 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup plain fat-free yogurt
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup egg substitute
6 2/3 tablespoons lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
⅓ cup apple sauce

For the glaze:

1 cup confectioners’ sugar
Enough lemon juice to mix with the sugar until it forms a glaze

Okay, to get started, preheat that oven to 350 degrees.

Mix up the flour, baking powder, and salt in a medium sized bowl.

In a larger bowl, mix together the yogurt, sugar, egg substitute, lemon juice, and vanilla.

Now, pour the dry ingredients in with the wet ones and mix them all together.

Add the applesauce and mix it throughout your batter.

Pour your mixture into a greased loaf pan and place in your preheated oven. Check on it after 60 minutes.  It will be ready to take out when you can stick a toothpick through the middle and it comes out clean.

YYUUUMM… I know you want to eat it, but don’t touch it yet.  Let it cool in the pan for about 10 minutes.

If you’re like me and you don’t have a cooling rack now is the time to invent a make-shift one haha.  Mine is made out of an old pan and our microwave rack sitting on top of four glasses. Classy huh?

Place your loaf on a cooling rack until it is warm, but not HOT.  If you can pick it up without yelling “HOT POTATO!” it is probably time for the glaze. While you wait mix up your sugar and lemon juice glaze.

Once your loaf has cooled, put some tinfoil over your cooling rack, pour your glaze over the cake, and let the glaze drip down the sides.

Let it sit for about 5 minutes and then slice it up and start munching!

All of this yumminess for under 1/2 a gram of fat per serving?!  Yes please!

-The Sweet Low-Fat Lemon Cake Cooking Kelley

P.S.  Please note that I can’t vouch for the accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

Not too shabby ah?

8 thoughts on “The Sweet Low-Fat Lemon Cake Cooking Kelley

  1. This looks amazing! I love lemon cakes so I need to try this recipe.

    We try to keep a really tight grocery budget too. My biggest trouble is not wasting anything. I have the best intentions for meals during the week but there is inevitably half a head of lettuce that never makes it into a salad, or some scallions that get pushed into the bottom of the vegetable bin. Don’t even get me started on how many frozen bananas are in my freezer because they keep going brown before we can eat them.

    Luckily I compost so I don’t really waste the food… just the money :/

    I like the summer and having a garden because I can just kind of make meals around what we have and fill it in at the store. Anyway back to this lemon cake, I love your cooling rack and the cake looks so delicious I want to leave work and go make it for lunch.

    • It worked fine for us. We always cook with egg substitute and we never notice. They’re pretty much just egg whites. We just use them because we need low fat and low cholesterol food. If you’re worried about it you can go ahead and use 1 whole egg and 2 egg whites like the original recipe called for. Thanks for the question!

  2. This looks absolutely delicious! I am unfortunately traveling all this month and don’t have access to an oven. I will definitely need to try this out when I return to San Francisco! xx

  3. That looks delicious! I’ll have to give this recipe a try soon. My boyfriend loves lemony desserts so I’m sure he’d appreciate it.

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with for tomorrow’s EBEW!

Leave a Reply

