The Lasagna Cooking Kelley

Welcome to my first attempt at cooking lasagna.

When I was a kid I thought I hated lasagna.  It was full of greasy meat, had yucky white stuff in it (which I later found to be ricotta… the only cheese in the world that I really DON’T like), and was hard to spell (I have always been phonetically challenged.).  I’m not sure whose lasagna I was eating (I don’t feel like my mom made it that often), but later I found out that not ALL lasagnas are the same.  There are the traditional meat lasagnas, but there are also veggie lasagnas, cheese lasagnas, and even lasagnas that don’t use lasagna noodles.  My world had changed and suddenly a world of lasagna opportunity was open to me.  I LOVED lasagna 🙂

While I love it, I had never attempted to make this dish until a few days ago.  While planning our meals for the week, I found and pinned this recipe.  And boy am I glad I did.  I only had to change a couple things to make it work for our family (she uses chicken and a little butter).  It comes from the blog Nosh N Nutrition.  This wonderful lady posts GREAT low-fat recipes.  In fact, one of her latest recipes is a NEW veggie lasagna!  You know I am excited to try that.  Ready for the recipe?  Let’s get going!

Chicken Portobello Lasagna

8 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
8 oz sliced mushrooms
5 garlic cloves, minced
1 can 98% fat-free cream of mushroom soup
1 cup fat-free plain yogurt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups fat-free shredded cheddar cheese
6 whole wheat lasagna noodles, cooked al dente
3 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese (Optional)
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees so that you don’t kick yourself later 🙂

This first step probably looks strange.  Yes, I am boiling my noodles in a skillet.  Why?  Because they didn’t fit in a pot.  You may now learn from my first time lasagna making silliness.  You CAN break the noddles in half and boil them in a normal pot. It fact, they will NEED to be broken in half to fit in the pan later anyway.  I’m a crazy beginner, don’t mind me.

Add a little water, your mushrooms, and the minced garlic to a skillet.  Cook it up on medium heat until the mushrooms are tender.

While the mushrooms and noodles are getting ready, mix the cream of mushroom soup, yogurt, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.

When the mushroom mixture is ready, add it to the bowl.  Put the thawed spinach in the bowl as well.  Mix it all up!

Add the cheddar cheese and… You guessed it, MIX!

Spread 1/4 of the mushroom mixture into a greased 8 x 8 pan.

Cover the mixture in the pan with cooked lasagna noodles.

Repeat this layering process twice, and top with the mushroom mixture.  I then sprinkled Parmesan cheese on my husband’s half of the lasagna and left my half Parmesan free.  Just an extra treat for him 🙂

Cover the pan with tinfoil and cook it at 350 degrees for 35 mins.  After 35 mins, take off the foil and cook for another 10 mins, or until the top starts to bubble.

Remove the dish from the oven and allow it to cool for 10 minutes before slicing.

After it is cooled, slice, serve, and eat!

My husband actually exclaimed how great this dish was WITHOUT being asked.  When a compliment is given without me staring at him until he says SOMETHING, that means the dish is a keeper! We will be adding this to our regular dinner rotation. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did! 🙂

-The Lasagna Cooking Kelley

P.S.  As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

Yes, and that is me, forgetting the “h” in mushroom.  An Edit feature would be a nice addition to that website haha.

10 thoughts on “The Lasagna Cooking Kelley

  1. ok, ill try this one!~ I emailed you a veggie one a year ago,,, lol i cant find the recipe now but it was yummy too,, and your right I never made lasagna much lol

  2. Oh my god, that looks delish!! It may be because I am currently starving, but I could just about lick the computer screen right now. This is on my must make list, for sure!!

    Soooooo hungry…

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Katie Maye. Love your style! now i have a blog to visit, thanks! 🙂
    also, this lasagna looks delicious. I’ll definitely have to try this recipe out

  4. First off, thanks so much for stopping by my blog to comment! I clicked on your blog and boy am I glad I did! I saw this recipe and was like *drool*. My husband absolutely loves lasagne and this one looks perfect. You’re so right when you say that not all lasagnes are created equally. I’ve only made the meat-version and once tried a veggie version. I am definitely going to try this recipe soon.

    I also LOVE your outfits and style. You’ve got great style. I’ve been click-ety click clicking through all your posts and there’s always something interesting to see or delicious to try! I’m adding you on my GoogleReader, now.

Leave a Reply

