The Muffin Cooking Kelley

I made a REALLY yummy dinner on Friday.  It works REALLY well for creating leftovers too.  I have a husband who will not touch leftovers, something about growing up on them and how they get too dry, or too watery.  Anyway, with these leftovers it was like eating it for the first time, so even he agreed to eat it again on Monday.  That recipe is one I will have to share later. Today I am going to share the little after dinner treat I made him for being such a trouper 🙂

The recipe is so simple, I don’t even feel like it needs a recipe post, but I wanted to share it’s yumminess with the world.  It certainly didn’t need pictures to go along with the instructions, but pictures make blogs more beautiful and interesting, don’t cha think?

This recipe comes from Pixelated Crumb.  I want to give her a big THANK YOU for posting this.  I found this recipe on Pinterest, and I then continued to search all over her site.  I’ve found lots of great new recipes from her that I want to try.  But, first things first. Healthy Carrot Zucchini Muffins.  Don’t let the name fool you.  These. Are. GREAT!  Yea, less than half a gram of fat per serving AND great!  I know people that make and eat healthy food often say this and it is a BIG FAT LIE, but I promise; these muffins are REALLY good and you completely forget that they are healthy when you eat them.

I’m really excited to make this my go to muffin recipe and start playing around with it.  It’s GREAT on it’s own, but the thing that is the MOST exciting about it is I know it is going to be fun to add new things now and then.  I want to try it with different berries, fruits, chocolate chips, and so much more!

Okay, I’ll stop talking about it and just give you the recipe now (slight slight changes made by me).

Healthy Carrot Zucchini Muffins

Makes 12 muffins/servings

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup egg substitute (or 3 eggs)***
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 cup finely chopped zucchini
1 cup shredded and finely chopped carrot
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees.  This seemed low to me, but it worked just fine 🙂

Mix the first 7 ingredients together in a medium sized bowl.

In a larger bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients.

Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones and mix.

Spoon the batter into a greased muffin pan.  I filled the tins all the way, rather than 2/3 of the way, and the muffins came out nicely.  Put the muffins in your preheated oven (325 degrees F) for 20 – 25 minutes or until a toothpick stuck into the middle of one of the muffins comes out clean. Mine were perfect after 24 minutes.

You know these were good because the hubs ate 3 of them.  I only put 2 on his plate and he went back for another all on his own.  He tends to make it pretty clear when he doesn’t enjoy something I cook, so I consider this a WIN!

-The Muffin Cooking Kelley

P.S.  As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

*** Calculated with egg substitute, not “whole eggs”.

3 thoughts on “The Muffin Cooking Kelley

  1. Yumm! These look delicious. My co-worker used to make zucchini chocolate chip muffins and I always thought they sounded weird until I actually tried one – so I believe you! Plus, I actually really like carrots baked into things.

    I’m glad you found something your husband likes 🙂

  2. I can’t get over how cute your blog entry titles are! 😀 I used to doubt baked goods with vegetables could taste good, but throw enough sugar in and anything can taste great! Hehehe. I just baked a carrot cake today too! 😀 I’ll save this recipe and make it vegan for my sister! My husband psychologically doesn’t like leftovers, but he can’t really tell they’re leftovers unless he eats it twice in a row. =P I like to mix it up and save all leftovers in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

