The Roasted Veggie Soup Cooking Kelley

What is the real complete and final, end all sign that I am craving fall?  Well, there is only one, and it happened last night.  I ate soup.  Yes, as strange as this may seem, food tends to be more so in charge of the seasons than clothes for me.  Maybe it’s because since moving to Arizona my clothes are sadly the same from summer until about November – February.  Maybe I just have a strange relationship with food.  Either way, when I start eating soup, I know fall is coming.

Not only do I not want to eat soup in the summer, I think I would die if I tried to make it.  Yesterday our high was 106 degrees… Yea, that is how Phoenix does September.  I was definitely feeling the heat (combined with the heat from the oven) as I made this soup and of course homemade french bread (recipe coming soon) to go with it.  I can’t even imagine what it would have been like at 115 degrees.

Anyway, this soup was delicious (another recipe adapted from the wonderful Finding Joy In My Kitchen blog) and I figured maybe fall meant soup to a few of you too, so I should share.  Also, I bet lots of you are in areas that are actually starting to cool down, so perhaps you won’t give yourselves heat stroke while trying to cook up your dinner.

Roasted Veggie Soup 

16 oz. mushrooms, sliced
3 medium zucchini, thickly sliced and quartered
2 large carrots,  thickly sliced and quartered
1/2 head of cauliflower, chopped
8 Cup veggie stock
1 can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 Cup high fiber pasta (I used Ronzoni Garden Delight Rotini)

Preheat your oven to 450 degrees.  Yes, you read that right, it’s about to get hot up in your kitchen.

Rinse your mushrooms and zucchini and chop them up according to the ingredients list.  Now, place them in a 9 x 13 glass baking dish with a small amount of water and pop them in the oven.  Let them roast for about 20 minutes, taking them out and siring them about every 10 minutes.

***Also, I know I have said it before, but I think freshly chopped veggies are one of the most beautiful foods EVER! YUM

Okay, while those veggies are heating up, it’s time to get to work on those carrots and the cauliflower (I found some fun orange cauliflower at the store!). So, wash ’em, chop ’em, and throw them in a big soup pot.  Add a little bit of water to the pot and let those veggies simmer for about 5 minutes.

Add all of the broth to the pot and let it simmer for another 10 – 20 minutes.

After that, add in the diced tomatoes.  Let that cook for about 5 minutes.

Now add in the pasta and again, let it cook for about 5 minutes.

Finally, add in all of those yummy roasted veggies and simmer the soup for about 3 – 5 more minutes.

Make sure you let the soup cool a little before you serve it up, you don’t want to burn any fingers or tongues.

This soup was YUMMY!  My husband even noted that HE really liked it, and there wasn’t even any cheese in it!  You know what made it extra good though? Eating it with some homemade french bread.  I’ll be writing up that recipe soon!

-The Roasted Veggie Soup Cooking Kelley

P.S.  As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

**The serving size is about 8, but it may be a little more or less.  We’ll see how many lunches I get out of this yummy soup.**

10 thoughts on “The Roasted Veggie Soup Cooking Kelley

  1. I am totally the same way! When I find myself craving soup, it’s bound to be Fall! This recipe looks super easy to make and yummy too! and you can’t beat a filling, less-than-100-calories meal!

  2. There’s nothing more I like than a vegetable soup on a cold autumn evening. I’ll be sure to try this recipe and add some red peppers in (because honestly, how can anyone not love red peppers?)

Leave a Reply

