The Munich Loving Kelley

Watching the Glockenspiel chime. 

Dress: Thrifted – Sweater: Forever21 Shoes: Forever21 – Coat: Target – Scarf: Gift from a student  Tights: Target

I don’t really know what to say about this part of our trip. Visiting the city my grandma grew up in was really a dream come true for me.  And let’s be honest, it’s a dream that I didn’t really think was going to happen.  Europe trips don’t really come around that often.  For me, this was without a doubt the best part of the trip.

I walked the streets of Munich in as much silence as I could muster, trying to take in everything I saw.  I listened as our tour guide explained that we were walking down the same streets that Hitler marched his army, and I thought of all of the sadness that was once in this great city.  I looked up at the giant glockenspiel in the center of town and I couldn’t help but wonder if my grandma had done the same thing as a little girl. As I heard about the history of the town, I couldn’t help but feel that I was hearing about my history… It was strange, but I loved every second of it.  New dream? To go again 🙂

-The Munich Loving Kelley

12 thoughts on “The Munich Loving Kelley

  1. You look lovely in Munich- it suits you. I feel privileged to have spent a few hours there on a layover in 2005 & would very much like to go back; so beautiful.

  2. Munich is such a great city! I love the story of the White Rose and Sophie Scholl, I’m sure you’ve heard about them. For me, she’s the most heroic person of the 20th century.

    On a less serious note, I love the weisswurst and pretzeln! 😀

  3. you know… i spent 2 weeks in Munich and went to Marianplatz countless times and I never once saw the Glockenspiel chime…. fail. haha. Munich is one of my favorite places I have every visited. I would love to come back and spend even more time there. It’s so beautiful and friendly.

Leave a Reply

