The Halloween Flapper Kelley

Dress:  Thrifted – Necklace: Old – Shoes: Target – Headband: DIY

We’re taking a break from our regularly scheduled programing (AKA the recapping of my trip to Europe) to bring you up to date on the current happenings of my household.

As you all know, last night was Halloween.  However, because my husband and I JUST got back from a two week stay in Europe, we really haven’t had the time, or the energy (oh jet-leg what a close friend you have been), to put together costumes.  We decided that was fine, because we were really only going to stay home, watch “It’s the Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown”, and pass out candy to the cute little kiddos that came to our door.

Then, at the last second (we’re talking 4pm last night) I changed my mind.  When I was a trick-or-treater I LOVED it when the grown-ups I got candy from were dressed up.  I was a shy kid, so knocking on the doors of strangers and asking them for things was TERRIFYING.  Don’t get me wrong, I still did it… Candy is a great motivator for 8 year-olds.  Anywho, I always felt a little better about it when the adults giving me candy were dressed up.  It felt like they were happily and willingly participating too.  I did NOT however appreciate the adults who dressed up in scary costumes.  I’m already scared to death of strangers thank you, I don’t need you to add blood and fangs to the situation.

So, I decided to dress up in a non-scary way.  I found a couple dresses from my closet (At first I just had on one blue dress, but it felt WAY too short, so I just added a black one under it so that I wouldn’t look like I was trying to be a “slutty flapper.” UGH we already have enough of those kinds of costumes each year.), shoes I already owned, a necklace I’ve had forever, I curled my hair, put on some make-up, made myself a headband out of craft supplies I had sitting in a bag under my bed (yea, I still put junk under my bed, that’s still okay right?), and I became a 1920s flapper!

Then my husband, who, mind you, always complains when I want to dress him up, got upset that I didn’t make HIM a costume too!  So it was off to Target and the Halloween Store.  About a 1/2 hour later we had a $5 hat and a $13 dollar pair of suspenders.  Add clothes he already owned and an eyeliner mustache, and you have yourself a genuine Charlie Chaplin.

My husband had WAY too much fun answering the door for trick-or-treaters, waving hello furiously, making silly facial expressions, and not saying a word. Lots of the kids happily exclaimed, “You’re dressed up too!” when we came to the door, so I think we made the right choice.

And of course, we had WAY too much fun setting up our tripod and taking a few goofy Halloween shots in character.  Have a look.

Did you dress up for Halloween this year?  What was your costume like?  I hope you had tons of fun!

-The Halloween Flapper Kelley

24 thoughts on “The Halloween Flapper Kelley

  1. These are too cute! I am so impressed that you put this all together so quickly, and that little headband you made is adorable! (I still put stuff under my bed too… shhh).

  2. AHHHH! Fantastic! I Love these photos so much. You two are adorable and take the cake for some of the best low budget costumes I’ve seen this year. So wanted to setup my tripod for studio shots with my son, but we did not have time. We ended up with photos while out trick o’ treating instead!

  3. Awww, these photos are adorable!!

    And as a dressed up parent this year, I have to admit it was much more fun to pass out candy than those years when I’m not in costume.

  4. Wow this is such a great post. Both you and your husband’s personality just shine out of those photos. Really great costumes, and you really look beautiful as a flapper!

  5. Pingback: Costumes From Our Closet | Threads and Buttons

Leave a Reply

