The Eiffel Tower Climbing Kelley

I’ve heard that a lot of monuments look smaller in person than they do in pictures.  The Statue of Liberty, for example, is supposed to look tiny in comparison to the expectations people have built up in their minds.  The Eiffel Tower is not like that at all. To put it simply, the thing is a beast.  Seriously. So. BIG!  In addition, SO TALL!

And this is great if you are insane and you enjoy going up to the top of super tall structures. I, however, am PERFECTLY sane, which means being up really really really high pretty much terrifies me.  Still, I couldn’t go all the way to Paris and NOT go up the Eiffel tower…

So, after looking at it from the ground for a while,

*Standing underneath the Eiffel Tower, being baffled by the sheer size of the thing!

Coat: Forever 21 – Belt: Thrifted – Shirt: Thrifted – Scarf: DIY

my husband and I headed up.

*Going up the first elevator.

The first level provides one with a spectacular view.  While it was beautiful, I could not get out of there fast enough.  It is COMPLETELY open.  No glass, no cage, nothing but the open air view of Paris.

*The view from the first level

So, we continued up to the top.

It really was absolutely beautiful. But still, after we snapped this picture, I stayed close to the wall (and away from the edge) for the duration of our Eiffel Tower adventure.

You know what else is exciting?  The tower does this fun thing at night where it lights up like a flashing Christmas tree every hour on the hour.  Again, super beautiful and super terrifying from the top.  Imagine being about 1,050ft up in the air, feeling slightly sick and wobbly, and then having somebody decide it would be fun to turn on a strobe light so that you can lose ALL sense of direction and balance.  Sweet huh?

I will say that I am really glad I sucked it up and went to the top, but as far as I am concerned, the Eiffel Tower is much more fun, and way more beautiful from the ground 🙂

-The Eiffel Tower Climbing Kelley

6 thoughts on “The Eiffel Tower Climbing Kelley

  1. Haha, I am terrified of heights too, and I wasn’t even brave enough to go up to the top of the Eiffel Tower… I viewed it from the safety of the ground 🙂 It was way larger than I thought it would be, and just such a magnificent sight. I will never forget it!

  2. Part of the reason it looks so awesome is that Paris has a law about how tall most buildings within city limits can be built. Which means the view from the top is STILL spectacular. (This was one of my favorite things in Paris.) Good for you for facing your fears!

  3. Thanks for the comment on my Happy Halloween post 🙂

    These images are sooo great, how lucky are you?! andddd….great coat!

    xo
    Lizzie
    placeclevertitlehere.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

