The Applesauce Loving Kelley

I may live in Arizona now, but I’ll always be a Washington girl at heart.  And you know what that means?  It means I love me some apples!  My favorite are by far granny smiths, but I bought some golden delicious a few days ago to add some pretty fall yellow to our home.  Yes I use apples to decorate, I mean just look at these beauties!

Plus, it’s a win win situation.  They made my house look pretty, AND I knew that I could make something yummy with them in a few days.

That day was today.  I am currently eating up some homemade applesauce, and it is good!  Who knew that something with no butter or added sugar could be so yummy?!  You really should give this recipe a try.  A snack that looks pretty, is quick and easy to make, tastes good, AND is good for you?  What do you have to lose really?

Homemade Applesauce

(Adapted from Joy In My Kitchen)

2 lbs. of apples, peeled, cored, and chopped (about 6 apples)

3/4 cups of water

1 tsp. lemon juice

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 small dash of nutmeg

Peel, core, and chop those apples.

Now, throw them in a big pot with about 3/4 cups of water.  Place over high heat and allow the water to start boiling.  Once the water boils, turn your heat to a low setting, cover the pot, and let those apples soften for about 25 minutes.  Stir them about every 5 minutes.

After 25 minutes, your apples should be soft enough to mash with the back of your stirring spoon, making them look similar to the photo above.  If their not soft enough, just let them simmer a little while longer.

It’s time to get out your lemon juice and spices!

Add a tsp of lemon juice, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and a tiny little dash of nutmeg to your mashed apple mixture.  Stir it all up! I tasted my apples at this point, and they were pretty sweet, so it didn’t seem necessary to add sugar. However, if you want to, feel free!

Now, scoop yourself a bowl of some YUMMY homemade applesauce!

-The Applesauce Loving Kelley

P.S.  As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

9 thoughts on “The Applesauce Loving Kelley

  1. Ooooh, I can’t believe I’m saying this, but now I’m craving applesauce! And the apples themselves are so pretty, no wonder you use them to decorate. Brilliant!

  2. This looks so yummy, and I bet your house smelled amazzzzing while it cooked! And you are from Washington originally? Can I ask where? I’m from the Kitsap Peninsula and get excited when I ‘meet’ bloggers from the state. 🙂

Leave a Reply

