The Spaghetti Sauce Cooking Kelley

We love spaghetti in our house.  It’s quick, easy, yummy, high in fiber, and all around pretty good for you.  However, I don’t always like buying a jar of spaghetti sauce.  Jared sauce can often be bland, expensive (if you are buying the high-fiber heart healthy ones like we do), and honestly, less personal.  Does that last point sound weird?  I guess it is kind of strange, but when I make a meal, I like to feel like I MAKE it.  It’s nice to sit down to a meal that took some effort, and has personal touches.

All of this means that I have been wanting to make my own spaghetti sauce for a while. So, I finally took the plunge.  I found a recipe and adapted it to our needs and personal preferences.  And now that it has passed the the taste test, I can make up a giant batch and start freezing it for later uses, which will make future spaghetti nights SUPER simple.

Homemade Spaghetti Sauce

(Adapted from Joy In My Kitchen)

*Makes 4 LARGE Servings

2 cans (14.5 oz each) undrained diced tomatoes, blended

2 cans (8 oz each) tomato sauce

1 can (6 oz) tomato paste

8oz mushrooms, sliced

2 medium carrots, chopped

2 T brown sugar

5 garlic cloves, minced

3 tsp. dried basil

3 tsp. dried oregano

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

First things first, chop/slice/mince up those beautiful veggies

***Now, this step includes a matter of preference.  My husband doesn’t like spaghetti sauce with chunks of tomato in it, so I blended my diced tomatoes in the food processor before adding them to a large pot.  If you want to do this, just blend for about 2-3 seconds (really, it’s not long at all), but if you like the chunks then don’t bother blending at all.***

Pour all of your tomato products (diced, sauce, and paste) into a large pot.  Mix them together and place them on the stove-top on a medium setting.

After about 2 minutes, mix your veggies and garlic into the pot.  Then add in all of the spices and the brown sugar. Continue to let it cook on a medium setting for about 5 minutes.  After five minutes, turn it down to the lowest setting and let it slowly cook for about 4 hours.  Make sure to stir it up now and then so things don’t stick to the bottom of the pan. If you need to, you can add a little water during this process.

After four hours your sauce should look something like this.

We enjoyed it with some yummy whole wheat noddles.  Oh, and adding homemade Wheaty French Bread to this meal makes it extra special 😉

-The Spaghetti Sauce Cooking Kelley

P.S.  As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:


4 thoughts on “The Spaghetti Sauce Cooking Kelley

  1. Yum! Looks delicious. And it has barely any calories in it, that’s awesome and I’m sure a million times better than what I usually buy from the jar in the supermarket.

  2. yum! i love all the veggies you put in these. it’d be a great way to trick my kiddos into eating a good heaping of veggies!

    Claire
    spinning-threads.blogspot.com

  3. This looks like a really good recipe. Everyone has their own way of making sauce, so I completely get the personality of it. I make mine with some sausages for added flavor and I use two large cans of the whole crushed tomatoes with a little bit of paste. My boyfriend makes it completely differently and we are always switching it up. There is nothing that makes me happier though than having a freezer full of sauce to turn to when you either have no idea what to make or just don’t feel like putting in too much effort.

  4. If Josh doesnt like the carrotts in it shred them…zucchinni too. And he will never know there in the sauce. Do u guys like green peppers? Or any flavored pepers…red, yellow, or green? Let me know if u have a good recipe for stuffing peppers.

Leave a Reply

