The London Pizza Express Eating Kelley

Pants: Ross – Top: Thrifted Sweater: Forever21 Shoes: Forever21 – Socks: Target Scarf: Gift from Mother-in-law Jacket: Target

While we were in London, we ate at Pizza Express twice.  The first time the husband spotted it and he quickly informed me that we HAD to go there because it had been recommended by a friend of his who lives in the UK.  I had already had pizza that day, so I ordered a Caesar salad.

Dear friends, if you eat Caesar salad in the UK, expect it to be VERY different from the ones you get in the states. I don’t know if it was just this restaurant or if this is something that can be applied to to whole area, but they cover the salad in sardines and the dressing tastes much more fishy than it does back home.  I know that technically Caesar salad is NOT vegetarian, but I usually just pretend it is, because it’s yummy, and you can’t really tell that there are little fish bits in it.  With this salad, there was no disguising the fishy flavor. I didn’t want to look like a rude snobby American, but there was visible fish… all mixed up in my food….  Needless to say, I skipped the salad and ate some of my husband’s pizza.

The next time we went, I got a DELICIOUS mushroom pizza that I really enjoyed. So, all this to say, if you find yourself at Pizza Express, just do the safe thing… and the NORMAL thing, and order PIZZA.

-The London Pizza Express Eating Kelley

P.S. The UK was a wonderfully relaxing and exciting extension of our tour, so there is more to come 🙂

27 thoughts on “The London Pizza Express Eating Kelley

  1. I always forget that ‘real’ Cesar salad has sardines on it. I’m so used to the iceberg lettuce + Cesar dressing version I would have been thrown off too.
    But goodness you look adorable here. The red stripes + navy shirt is a great look, and I love the grey socks + brown shoes!

  2. Haha, I will definitely stick to the pizza. Fishy salad sounds disgusting!! Can I just say you looked SO adorable on your trip! Every place you’ve posted you look so pulled together and cute! I always look like such a mess on vacation.

  3. It’s fun following you in your travels! I’m a little jealous. 🙂 I’ve had some Caesar salads here in the states where there’s been fish staring back at me. It’s mostly been in Italian restaurants. I think the fish flavor is so overwhelming!

    Jenn

  4. I love love love that scarf. I try to experiment with food while traveling, but things like that happen sometimes! You look so adorable in this outfit, I think I really need to get some oxfords soon.

Leave a Reply

