The Sourdough Mushroom Stuffing Making Kelley

When I was little, I thought stuffing came from one of two places:  Out of a box, or out of the inside of a turkey (Am I the only one who was freaked out by this as a child?!).  Both versions tasted the same to me, and I always decided to skip over them when they were passed around… Unless my mom made me take some.  Since becoming an adult, I’ve had absolutely no reason to eat stuffing.  Until now.

A few years ago I got desperate while looking for vegetarian Thanksgiving dishes (I LOVE Thanksgiving, but it changes a lot after you write-off one of its main food groups.), and I decided to do a search for stuffing.  I had NO idea that there were actually different kinds of stuffing out there.

In the end, I found a recipe that used sourdough bread and mushrooms; two of my absolute favorite foods!  I’ve changed this recipe so much over the last few years, that it is really nothing like the old one (which I lost quite a while ago).  It’s now vegetarian, and pretty low in fat for a Thanksgiving dish.  PLEASE, if you have given up on stuffing, try this recipe this year.  I bet it will change your mind about stuffing forever!

Sourdough Mushroom Stuffing (Makes 4 Servings)

1/2 pound loaf sliced sourdough bread

1 tablespoon butter (I use light I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter)

8 ounces mushrooms, cut into thick pieces

About 5 sprigs fresh thyme, (about 2 tsp)

5 fresh sage leaves, chopped (about 2 tsp)

1 3/4 cups low-sodium veggie broth

**Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.**

Rip the bread into pieces that are about an inch in size.  Spread them on a baking sheet and place them in the preheated oven for 20 minutes.

Melt the butter in a medium sized pot over medium heat.

Add your chopped mushrooms to the pot.  Continue to stir and cook the mushrooms until they have expelled their juices and have become much smaller in size (about 8 minutes or so).  You can add water to the pot If you need to.

Add the thyme to the pot.

After about 2 – 3 minutes, chop the sage leaves and add them to the pot.

After about 5 minutes, add the broth to the pot.  Allow the mixture to simmer for about 5 – 8 minutes.

Once your bread pieces are toasted, transfer them to a large bowl.

Pour all of the contents of the pot into the bread bowl and stir to mix and coat the bread.

Press the mixture into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.  Allow it to cool down a bit after you take it out of the oven.  Then ENJOY!

-The Sourdough Mushroom Stuffing Making Kelley

P.S.  As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

9 thoughts on “The Sourdough Mushroom Stuffing Making Kelley

  1. Yep… Yummy.. Now i want to pick some fresh morrel mushrooms that grow in wa likely not in az n use them. There r tons of types of mushrooms all add a different flavor…think some come dried so then u need less

  2. I definitely thought stuffing was a weird grown up food, somewhat like olives. These are great pictures though and I love the nutrition info at the the end.

  3. Yum! I tried making my own stuffing once and it sucked… maybe I should try again.

    I’m a vegetarian too and I actually LOVE Thanksgiving now that I’ve found some great recipes. Also, do you like the fake turkeys? Tofurkey is OK, but there’s one called “field roast” that is absolutely amazing. I look forward to it every year 🙂 If you can get a hold of one, I highly recommend it.

Leave a Reply

