The Not So Natural Kelley

Shoes: Thrifted – Tights: Target – Dress: Forever21 – Top: Target – Necklace: Forever21

I LOVE taking photos, but I hate being in them.  Daily outfit photos are kind of my own form of personal torture. Something just comes over me when there is a camera pointed in my direction.  My husband tells me to act natural, but the problem is that I just can’t seem to remember what I naturally do with my face, arms, fingernails, or any of my body parts for that matter.  I’m not the only one who has noticed this. I have a friend who once tried to take photos of me on and off all day while she thought I wasn’t paying attention, only to say “Oh, I guess your face is just like that” in the end (her words… but she spoke truth).  That face showed up WAY too many times while taking pictures of this outfit, so these 4 sad images are what cha get today.  This outfit was much cuter “naturally”, I pinky swear.

-The Not So Natural Kelley

35 thoughts on “The Not So Natural Kelley

  1. I like your hair in this natural center part, it goes well with the look. My fiance always tells me ‘do something crazy’ lol. At least they take pictures for us in the first place right?

    xo L.

  2. I used to be the same way about photos, always dodging the camera. Then my daughter and I go and start a style blog. Kind of weird for someone who hates having their picture taken! Heather

  3. I know exactly how you feel when taking photos… I’m always thinking “What do i do with my hands?” or “How’s my smile?” Looking at blogs, though, it seems pretty effortless for many people. 🙂

  4. I think this outfit is awesome!! And you look great! haha but I totally feel the same way as you…so weird being the one in front of the camera, right?!

  5. You look great in these cool colors! I have a pair of boots similar to these that I’m a few months from having a common law marriage with. They’re awesome.

    I have the opposite problem with outfit photos. My natural instincts say, “Look, Lora! A camera! Time to be gross/an idiot/do impressions of seals!” so I have to pretend to be normal until the shoot is over. It hurts.

    http://www.madamdonut.blogspot.com

  6. This is really cute, I love the ruffly top over the dress, and the shoes are so sweet. I don’t think I really photograph well either, but I’m probably just wrong about how cute I am in person.

  7. Well, you certainly always look like a natural in your photos! You always look cute 🙂

    That’s why I take my own photos – for some reason when someone else gets behind the camera I start crossing my eyes and forget how to walk…

  8. Well, at least your husband is willing to take your pictures and give you direction. Getting my BF to take photos of me is like pulling teeth. I actually prefer to just use the self-timer so I don’t feel rushed! Great blog, btw!

  9. Oh my heavens, I love the way you’ve layered that blouse under that dress…it changes the whole look of the dress from swingy, easy cotton to something really styled and standout! Cute boots too. Following your blog…really excited to see more of your style 🙂

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  10. ahh! i know exactly what your talking about! I prefer to take photos than be in them too haha!
    well you don’t have anything to worry about, these pictures came out great and you look great!
    loove those boots too! what a great find 🙂
    xx

  11. I’m the same way with photos too. You’d think I get used to it with taking outfit photos, but I take them myself, so whenever I hand the camera to a friend, I would get all awkward.

    I didn’t even realize that ruffle was from a different shirt! I thought it was part of the dress. How cute! And I’m so jealous that you thrifted those boots.

Leave a Reply

