The Pumpkin Spice Muffin Top Making Kelley

Ready to hear something really weird?  I don’t really like cookies. I mean don’t get me wrong, I will eat through a sleeve of Oreos now and then, but for the most part, I pass on most things cookie. So, when I first made this recipe, I wasn’t expecting to like it, but my husband loves cookies, so I decided to make these pumpkin cookies for him.

Then, something strange happened.  I LOVED this new delicious dessert.  We made it about 3 times in one month (We don’t usually make desserts, so that’s saying a lot!)!  Then, after much thought, I realized why I loved them.  They’re not like cookies at all, they’re like one of my favorite things ever:  Muffin tops!  I have to be honest, when I eat a muffin, all I really want is the top part, and that is exactly what these are!

I found this recipe at the wonderful Tracey’s Culinary Adventures, but I changed it up just a smidgen and I decided to rename them according to what we now call them in our home.

Pumpkin Spice Muffin Toppers

(Adapted from Tracey’s Culinary Adventures)

Muffin Toppers
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I use 2 cups all-purpose and 3/4 cups whole wheat flour)
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 1/4 teaspoons ginger
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter, warm but not melted
2 cups light brown sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups canned pumpkin puree
3/4 cup fat free evaporated milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Icing
2 cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
3 tablespoons I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter
1/4 cup fat free evaporated milk (You can add more if it’s not getting smooth enough.)
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

***Preheat your oven to 375 F.***

Now enjoy those yummy muffin toppers for all of the deliciousness that they contain!

-The Pumpkin Spice Muffin Top Making Kelley

14 thoughts on “The Pumpkin Spice Muffin Top Making Kelley

  1. OMG these look ahmaaaazzzing! I mean cookie means muffin means pumpkin!? you can’t really go wrong. Thanks for sharing, Kelly. I really love how you edited the photos adding the steps above the photos in peach – looks great 🙂 P.S. let’s raid Bonnie’s (Flashes of Style) closet together sometime!

  2. Oh my gosh..I love anything pumpkin!! These remind me of that Seinfeld episode with the muffin tops shop..hehe. But with that icing on top, I am definitely trying this out!! Looks delicious:)

  3. Pingback: The Caramel Stuffed Apple Cider Cookie Making Kelley « Threads and Buttons

Leave a Reply

