The Minnie Bow Making Kelley

Last weekend we went to Disneyland with some friends.  It was A-mazing.  However, I think we all know that planning an outfit for Disneyland can be really difficult. You want to look cute and put together, but still be comfortable enough to walk around all day and climb in and out of rides without ripping something, falling on your face, or flashing body parts that should never be shown in Disneyland.  Going in December adds another layer of difficulty because you have to find a way to stay warm during the early morning and evening, while not melting like a Mickey-shaped ice cream bar in the afternoon.

I was lucky enough to find the perfect outfit the day before we left. It contained polka dots and red. Yes, I looked like Minnie Mouse, which was perfect.  This Minnie inspired outfit was just missing two things:  A bow and a little kick of yellow.  So, I decided to kill two birds with one stone and make myself a yellow Minnie Mouse bow (sorry birds…).

I looked on Pinterest for some bow DIY inspiration, and I even tried a few of them out, but none of them were giving me the quintessential Minnie bow shape, and some of them were a little hard to make.  That, or I just stink at crafting, which is ENTIRELY possible.  So, in the end I gave up on following the tutorials and just decided to winged it.

Winging it turned out better than I thought it would.  I ended up with the perfect Minnie Mouse bow, and it was SUPER easy! Seriously, this bow is so easy to make that it probably doesn’t even need a tutorial. Still, I thought, if you ever get the urge to look like Minnie, or you just like wearing big ol’ bows a quick tutorial may help.  So, here it is!

*In the end, to help secure the bow to the headband, I glued a little square of extra felt on the back of the bow over the top of the band*

Enjoy your bow!

-The Minnie Bow Making Kelley

18 thoughts on “The Minnie Bow Making Kelley

  1. Cute!! You’re so crafty 🙂 I want to see a pic of you in your Minnie attire! Disneyland is so fun, and yay for not flashing the kiddies while getting off of the rides. I’ve seen it happen and it’s not pretty…

  2. So cute! I made a bunch of bows and headbands for my nieces when they were little. Ok and a lot for myself too. lol

    I really like your blog, now following! : )

  3. ahhh! Such a cute DIY….I’m definitely going to raid my mom’s felt stash (well I’m assuming she has one actually….what crafty mom doesn’t) when I’m home at xmas and make a brooch version of this! Thanks for sharing this tutorial, Kelley 🙂

Leave a Reply

