The Nerdy NetNewsWire Loving Kelley

How do YOU keep up with all of the blogs that you follow? I know quite a few people use Google Friend Connect (GFC), but now that GFC will be dropping all non-blogger blogs, I figured there may be a few people out there who are at a bit of a loss when it comes to organizing their favorite reads.

Personally, I have never used GFC simply because WordPress.com blogs have never, to my knowledge, supported it, AND because I have a SUPER nerdy husband who swears by the RSS reader NetNewsWire.  One day he saw the unholy mess of bookmarks that I had on my internet browser, and he FORCED me to download NetNewsWire (NNW).  I DON’T like change, and technology is not my biggest area of skill, so I was afraid.

However, after about 5 minutes, I was using it like a pro! Seriously guys, it’s SO easy.  I’ve been using it for months now.  And I love it so much, I thought I would share.

Here’s a quick overview of what I see when I open NNW every day:

Basically, you have the list of the blogs you LOVE in the left sidebar, nicely organized into category folders like so:

I’ve got a folder for Fashion/clothes blogs, one for photography blogs, and one for money saving blogs (things like coupons and great deals), but you can create any kind of folder you want.  That little blue number to the right of the folders updates every time you press the “Refresh all” button at the top, and tells you if there are new posts for you to read.

Then, you open up the folder, and check out which of your favorite blogs has published something new.  If you click on the blog title, a list of that blog’s latest posts will appear on the upper middle of the screen like this:

Then just single click on the title of the post you want to read, and it shows up in the area below:

It’s like a computerized magazine full of only things that you REALLY want to read haha.

So, how do you add blogs to NNW?  Easy!  Go to the file menu and click “New subscription”

A new window will pop up.  In this new window you just type in the URL for the blog you want to follow, type in the blog’s title, and choose which folder you want it to be in.  Then click the “Subscribe” button and you’re good to go!

So, that’s my nerdy spiel on my favorite RSS reader.  Hope you’re not asleep and getting drool all over your keyboards… If you are, WAKE UP! and go download NetNewsWire 🙂

-The Nerdy NetNewsWire Loving Kelley

P.S. NetNewsWire is currently for Macs only (sorry PCs).  If you don’t have a Mac, I would recommend Google Reader which is somewhat similar to NetNewsWire and works on Macs and PCs.

P.P.S.  What the heck is RSS?  Here you go!

18 thoughts on “The Nerdy NetNewsWire Loving Kelley

  1. Wow, this is a really great way to follow blogs, and I have a Mac, so I may try this out soon! I use Bloglovin’, which I like pretty well, but NetNewsWire seems nicer and more streamlined. Thanks for the tip! 🙂

    • Yea! I felt a little weird writing a post like this on my blog (seemed like people who come to see clothing may not be interested), but it’s something that has helped me so much that I really wanted to share. Glad it was helpful for a few people 🙂

  2. oooooo nerdyness! Great post girl – I have been a lazy bum just using GFC because of my blogger account…I just keep track of all my blogs via the reading list blogger offers in your dashboard. I can’t switch over to RSS etc cause I loooove seeing people’s bloggy layouts *drool*. ah well, we’ll see when the GFC apocalypse happens. We always have bloglovin’ too – woot!

    • I would 100% use GFC if I had a blogger account. I was upset when I realized that WordPress.com didn’t accept it. But now that Google is changing it up anyway I guess it’s good that my husband forced me to try NNW. And you’re right, Bloglovin is great too 🙂

  3. I use Google Reader and Bloglovin, but I really like how streamlined Netnews looks and that you can group things by subject.

    You asked about the dress I had on the dressform in my post today – its from H&M and is on sale for $20 right now, go scoop one up. The earrings were also from there, and the bracelet, shawl and hair flair were from Forever 21 if you’re interested. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. This is awesome. I never used GFC, but I used Google Reader for awhile. But then I changed my blog and lost all of my subscriptions and it didn’t have categories. I will definitely check this out because sometimes I forget some amazing bloggers. So thank you.

Leave a Reply

