The Blanket Knitting Kelley

My sister is officially headed to the airport (for the second time today as she missed her first flight… UGH!) to go back to Mexico.  Have I ever mentioned that one of my sisters lives in Mexico?  Well she does.  And you know what?  Now that she’s heading back I’m realizing that I’ve missed her more than I thought.

So, I decided to share what I think will be one of my favorite sister memories from this Christmas. AKA brag about a finished project that should have been simple and short, but took me three months…

When I found out a few months ago that my sister was pregnant, I started this blanket RIGHT away!  And I finished it on Christmas morning.

When she opened it, her reaction seemed to be genuinely happy, so I think making the blanket ended up being a good idea.  Even if it did take me forever!

I picked up my very first pair of knitting needles exactly one year ago on Christmas, so I think it’s fitting that I gave someone a knitted gift this year.  Can’t you just see her sweet little baby boy all curled up in his little blanket when he’s born in five months? She better send me pictures!

-The Blanket Knitting Kelley

P.S. I should send a very special THANK YOU shout out to my friends Megan and Kelly for helping me along in all of my knitting adventures 🙂

22 thoughts on “The Blanket Knitting Kelley

  1. Try taking her to the airport! I didn’t think I would cry but the second I had to walk away… lol so embarrassing. At least she didn’t see me. I told her that as soon as that baby hits the 2 month mark she is coming up here again. We don’t see each other enough. Me and you either and we live 30 minutes away. Love your blanket. I want to try to knit and maybe you could help me.

  2. AWW! I can’t believe you thought I was cool for making a quilt when you in fact KNIT a BLANKET. I love it!

    Also I am so happy to hear you finished it on Christmas morning, because even though I tried so hard to finish my mom’s quilt for Christmas, it just ended up being impossible. I finally quit at 2am the night before my flight and ran out and bought some nice things that morning instead.

    I feel defeated but I know the final product will be a lot better if I can take my time. It’s going to make a great mother’s day gift!

    Now, I just need to know… can you knit booties? I think that baby will want some!

  3. Oooooooooooh so pretty, love the colours! I’m super impressed…I’ve knitted before and it takes eons to finish!

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

    • Thanks! It took me a while to land on a color for the border. I couldn’t decide if I was going to wait until I knew the gender and pick it based on that or not. Finally I decided I just needed to finish it before I knew if it was a boy or a girl if I was going to have it done by Christmas. So yellow it was. And we all know how much I love mustard!

  4. Looks beautiful! I’ve tried to learn how to knit on several occasions, but haven’t gotten the hang of it. Maybe that can be a goal for 2012. Happy New Year.

    xo L.

  5. Great job! I am a crocheter and have been doing it for a year now and allll of my gifts this year were crocheted. That blanket is really cute. I’m actually working on a little yellow one right now 🙂

Leave a Reply

