The Thrifted Inspired Kelley

Something new is coming! Come see what it’s all about!

As I’m sure you have all surmised by now (good job by the way, you’re excellent surmisers), I LOVE to thrift. In fact, I’d say it’s where I do 80% of my clothes shopping.

Thrifting is great for so many reasons! You save money, you run into all different kinds of people and situations that give you awesome new stories to tell, you get to feel like a treasure hunting pirate (when else do you really get to do this in life?)… But perhaps best of all, thrifting helps you find some truly unique pieces of clothing.

While this really is something that I love about thrift shopping, it’s also something that brings me a bit of sadness. You see, when I find a great new piece that is FAR from ordinary, I get excited to share it with all of you. However, I’m also immediately sad that I can’t help you find the same great piece.

Sometimes it’s really hard to track down thrifted pieces and find out where they really came from. Many of you have expressed this sadness to me when you see me wearing a piece that you really like, but then it ends up being thrifted and there is suddenly no chance for you to get your hands on one.  Believe me, I’ve been on that side of thirfting too.  Sometimes you just want to tiptoe over to the thrifted finder and grab a somehow casual peek at that dress’s tag, or just completely steal their clothes…

Well, a new blog series that I am calling “Thrifted Inspiration” is here to make that “Oh no, she thrifted it and now I’ll NEVER find anything like it” feeling hurt a little bit less. In this series, I’m going to do my best (sadly I’m not MAGIC, but how cool would that be?!) to find pieces that are similar to some of my unique thrifted finds that you guys seem to enjoy.  For each thrifted item, I’ll give you a similar “Bargain Beauty” (cheap similar version) and a “Lavishly Lovely” (a similar version that you could get if you wanted to really splurge).

As far as which thrifted pieces I’ll be using as inspiration, it will really be up to you.  If I get a lot of positive feedback on a thrifted piece or a request for a “Thrifted Inspiration” on a particular item, I’ll write up a post on it.  Really, these posts will be written to help you guys get inspired, and it’s silly for me to write one up on a piece that you don’t enjoy.

In the same way, if you guys just absolutely HATE this idea, I won’t write up any more “Thrifted Inspiration” posts at all.  I mean you’re the ones reading this, and how rude would it be for me to just keep publishing things that you hate?  SO rude!

So, for the 3 of you that actually read this WHOLE post, what do you think?  Good idea or “Meh…”?

If you feel like you need more of a feel for the idea before you decide, I’ll be posting the first “Thrifted Inspiration” later today, so stay tuned!

-The Thrifted Inspired Kelley

19 thoughts on “The Thrifted Inspired Kelley

  1. Good idea! And as someone who posts lots of thrifted items, I feel the same way – I love linking to items for people, but it’s often so hard to find a similar item when it’s a polyster shoulder-padded grandma brand that nobody has heard of.

    Look forward to seeing what you come up with!

    • Agreed! And sometimes I find something that is similar in some ways, but different in other ways, and I feel like I need to explain WHY I think it’s similar…. and then it’s just a mess. All that to say I think this will work a little better. Thanks for your feedback!

  2. I love this idea! I would love to have more awesome thrifting finds, but sometimes I feel like I don’t have access to great stores – probably more the issue is that I don’t put in the time/dedication that it takes to be a successful thrifter… People who are good at it seem to love doing it, and I think I just don’t have the same love of the hunt – BUT I like the unique/eclectic style that good thrifters can put together and would love suggestions for regular shopping inspiration!

  3. I think this is an awesome idea Kelly! This has happened to me too and I get so uber jealous and toddler tantrum esque when I see something I want and come to find out it is from a thrift store 4587214 miles away. Get it girl!

  4. Pingback: The Fourth Thriftly Inspired Kelley « Threads and Buttons

  5. Pingback: The Fifth Thriftly Inspired Kelley | Threads and Buttons

Leave a Reply

