The Fifteenth Photobooth Friday Kelley

Come one, come all, and enjoy the day at the end of the work week!

Skirt: Thrifted –  Belt: Thrifted (Similar) – Buttondown: Thrifted Necklace: Forever21 (Similar)

One time, when I was in middle school, I went to an eye doctor who told me that I was so blind in my left eye that it was physically impossible for me to be able to see in 3D.  According to him, I only “thought” that I was viewing a 3-dimensional world because I knew that I was supposed to, so my brain was just fixing things and making me see them in the way I thought I was supposed to, rather than seeing them in the way in which my eyes allowed me to.  According to him my vision would likely not allow me to live a normal life.

Ladies and gents, welcome to the reason that I am TERRIFIED of going to the eye doctor.  I’ve seen many a doctor since this man, all of whom believed that other doctor was likely smoking something. Nonetheless, I still get a horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach each time I walk in for an eye exam. “Are they going to tell me I can’t drive?” “Are they going to tell me I’m going blind?!”

This means I generally avoid eye doctors at all cost… Sadly, I’ve been doing a lot of squinting, rubbing my eyes all of the time, and getting headaches more than I’d like to admit.  The time has come, I need a new prescription (AND these glasses are the most ugly, crooked things on the planet at the moment).

I have to make an eye doctor appointment.  And I have to do it soon.  Wish me luck.

-The Fifteenth Photobooth Friday Kelley

P.S. I’m not sure if you can tell, but I’m pretty sure this is my motto today.

20 thoughts on “The Fifteenth Photobooth Friday Kelley

  1. That does sound particularly frightening. How heinous of a thing to explain to a poor little child! But I’m glad that you made it past the terror and have some cute glasses now to fix your peepers 🙂 LOVE the chambray and green together.

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  2. I fainted at the eye doctor’s once (like actually was walking down the hall after my exam, blacked out, fell on the floor because I was so grossed out by the things I was told about my eyes), so I feel your pain. Unfortunately I have horrible eyes, a job that requires me to spend a lot of time in front of a screen, and hobbies that require the same SO I spend some time at the eye doctor’s once a year. Good luck, and get some cute glasses!

  3. What a mean doctor! I’m sorry to hear how he scared you, sounds like a serious trauma. But you know what? Most docs are useless. Sometimes when I don’t feel like going to uni, I go to the doc and say “I have cystitis.” although I have not. Then they make this pee analysis (sorry I’m lacking of vocabulary here haha) and the doc says “Oh yes you have a very bad cystitis.” and prescribes me antibiotica. Although I really know for sure I’m not sick, I’m just to lazy to attend classes.
    Don’t believe everything they say, trust your own feeling. If you feel like your sight is not getting worse then it isn’t! 😉
    Maybe some eye drops could solve your squinting problems?
    Anyway, I think you look really cute in the photos, your facial expressions are hilarious 🙂

  4. Kell,,,, He was rather odd I admit!` but I didn’t know “other Doc” said this one was smokin somethin,lol… make the apt, and get it over with!You look cute today! Keep me posted

  5. Ugh – crazy doctor! Hope you get yourself to a non-crazy eye doc soon. 🙂 Cute outfit – I love the necklace, and am envious of the half-tuck you’ve pulled off here … I just can’t figure out how to do it so it looks cool and intentional, not sloppy.

  6. My first eye doctor experience wasn’t very pleasant either. Luckily I had great vision and haven’t been back since.

    I’m dying to own a chambray top, but the thrifter in me insists I wait until I find a secondhand one! 😀

  7. You look like a crazy cute librarian. I love that necklace with the outfit. It pulls it all together.

    I wish I could sympathize with you but I love my eye doctor. I see her whenever I’m cross country skiing. She’s a fiery old lady who will never stop living life.

    Wren

  8. I can tell by your style that you’re not blind. I have a friend who cheats at the eye doctor (she memorizes the chart when he leaves the room) but I wouldn’t recommend that! The eye doctor is your friend!

  9. I love your photobooth Fridays, they’re so much fun! Good luck when you go to the eye doctor, I hope it goes smoothly. (I don’t know if you watch Friends, but this reminds me of when Rachel has to go to the eye doctor, and Monica has to wrestle her down to give her eye drops. Sorry, I’m addicted to that show!)

  10. I always hate when I look at your Friday post on Monday…because then I wish it was Friday again 🙂 Love your hair in these pics, and such a cute outfit! Good luck with the eye doctor – sounds scary, but you’ll be fine!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  11. Pingback: The Scared Yet Victorious Kelley « Threads and Buttons

  12. Love these photobooth pics! And by the way: when I was in elementary school, the school nurse called my mom and said that I was BLIND. Like you, I just don’t really see all that well out of my left eye. (Good news is I wasn’t actually blind – bad news is that I had to wear an eye patch in elementary school to help strengthen my bad eye! Not sure if it really worked.)

  13. Pingback: The Warby Parker Trying Kelley « Threads and Buttons

Leave a Reply

