The Scared Yet Victorious Kelley

Shoes: Thrifted Skirt: Thrifted Belt: Forever21 (Similar) Top: Thrifted (Similar) Necklace: DIY

This weekend was a good one.  You know how I can tell? It ended with me and my husband making a trip to the grocery store JUST to buy ourselves a pie. And when that store didn’t have the one we wanted, we held our ground and drove to another store to find the perfect pie. Victory was ours as we sat on our couch, ate chocolate cream pie with an Oreo crust, and watched the first two episodes of The X-Files on Netflix.

Which brings me to my next point.  Aliens are scary, but one of the most terrifying things in the world will ALWAYS be the haunting whistle in the X-Files theme.

-The Scared Yet Victorious Kelley

P.S.  Thanks for all of your support with the whole eye doctor thing… Hopefully I’ll be brave enough to make an appointment today.

42 thoughts on “The Scared Yet Victorious Kelley

  1. Ooh chocolate cream pie!! Sounds like the best way to wrap up the weekend 🙂 I love your skirt. What a cute outfit! That yellow belt adds a really nice pop of color. Good luck with the eye doctor appointment!!!

  2. ha ha ha ,,so funny I thought it was Amanda that ran from the room every time the sound track came on from that show ! BTW,, I like the necklace,, it reminds me of Sci-Fi too lol

  3. Oh my gosh I haven’t thought of the X-files in years! Speaking of scary aliens… do not watch the movie “The Fourth Kind” it was on HBO the other day so I watched it…in the daylight..and was still scared out of my mind!

    You look amazing by the way that first photo really looks like a model standing there drenched in sunlight!

  4. I love, love, love the color of that skirt! That pie sounds amazingly delicious!

    I just read your post about the eye doc and I hope you make the appointment, your eyesight is very precious and you have to take care of it! I wear both glasses and contacts so I go to the eye dr on a regular basis. For me, nothing can be worse than going to the gyno so the eye dr is easy peasy in comparison 🙂

    -Sharon

  5. Oh my God yes, that theme! I think I was about 12 when they aired the show in Vietnam, and I loved it, but I would wake up in the middle of the night with that theme stuck in my head and had to turn on all the lights.

    Love the pink skirt, btw.

  6. Love this outfit! I especially love the skirt – I have one in a similar color and I am finding all sorts of ideas for it! Also, chocolate pie with Oreo crust? Nice choice.

    Wishing you luck with the eye doctor!

  7. I love the colours in your outfit, so cute! And this necklace is the icing on top!
    Oh yes this X-Files whistle, it was so scary to see the intro when I used to live alone, aah…

  8. Way to stick to your pie guns! Sometimes a substitute just won’t do! When I first read the post title and saw the first photo, I predicted it would have something to do with rock climbing, but I think X files is much scarier!
    –TS

  9. I have this shirt 🙂 Love the stripes…and the pie sounds amazing!!! Makes me want my fav, warm pecan pie.

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  10. OMG I love that Netflix has the X-files. That show manages to be creepy even 15 years later but still kind of comforting because of the nostalgia. The pink skirt is amazing, also your pie sounds delicious.

  11. That pie sounds sinfully delicious… Love how you style that great pink skirt with all neutrals!
    The x-Files them song always gives me the creeps!

  12. Eating pie and watching a scary movie, what a lovely combination. The more scared you become the more pie you eat hahah -Sometimes just being relaxed is the best weekend ever.

    Love the background of your photo.The pink skirt is so cute.

  13. Ooooo sounds like the perfect day – any trip that is made especially for pie has to turn out perfect 🙂 om nom! awww, just read about your terrible eye doctor experience. I know what you mean tho, coming from an equally blind person (haha if I don’t know where I put my glasses down, I can not find them….cause I seriously can NOT see them!) its a really touchy topic. But you know, they’ve made so many advances in optometry that I bet there’s a laser cure or better lenses 🙂

  14. I’m glad to hear that my guy and I aren’t the only ones that pig out and watching the X-Files… and funny you should mention the theme song – it has ALWAYS creeped me out (sends a shiver down my spine) and yet I could never quite put my finger on why. You’re completely right though, it’s that haunting whistle!

  15. Love love love your pretty pink skirt with that gray striped top – so cute! And mmmmmmm pie – LOVE pie. So funny you posted about aliens – we actually watched Independence Day this weekend – and I was strangely riveted 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  16. What a great outfit! I love the pink and yellow together…and the light blue stripes really helps keep the whole ensemble from being “too much.” You look fab 🙂

  17. The Hubster and I love, love, love the X-files. It is such an awesome show to watch together IMO because there is so much mystery to talk about. This sounds like a wonderful weekend.

Leave a Reply

