The Stupid Stubborn Kelley

Shoes: Thrifted Skirt: Thrifted Belt: Thrifted Top: Thrifted Necklaces: Gift

Want to hear about how stupid and stubborn my husband and I both are?  I thought so.  Here’s a quick and paraphrased summary of something that happened on Sunday night around 10:30pm while we should have been sleeping.

My husband was stretching his arms over his head, and he looked at me and said, “It hurts to hold my arms up like this.”

I responded, “That’s weird.”

Husband: “I bet I could hold by arms over my head longer than you.”

Me:  “That’s stupid.  And it’s not like it’s something that’s hard to do.”

Husband: “Then let’s see you do it.”

We look at each other (I roll my eyes), count to three, and our arms go up in the air.

…4 minutes later.

Me: “This is stupid, we look SO dumb right now.”

Husband: “Then just put your arms down and end it.”

Me: “EARG!”

…another 4 minutes later

Me:  “Seriously?!  We’re still doing this?!”

Never challenge stubborn people to do stupid things, they’ll do it, and it will never end.

-The Stupid Stubborn Kelley

P.S.  In case you’re wondering, our arms were like that for a little over 10 minutes… And I won 🙂

Pastels | Everybody, Everywear

40 thoughts on “The Stupid Stubborn Kelley

  1. Haha your arm holding contest is hilarious! I never bet my husband to do anything, because he will never turn down a bet. (this includes eating so much hot sauce thanks to his brother, that I thought I’d have to take him to the hospital).

    I love the floral and stripes pattern mixing!

    -Sharon
    The Tiny Heart

  2. Ohh congrats on winning and being awesome! Haha – I totally pictured you guys doing this in my head – made me laugh 🙂 LOVE your pattern mixing – that skirt is so pretty and love the color of the striped top!

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

  3. 1. Floral + stripes = win

    2. I’m stubborn too, but I’m too much of a wuss to take any bet. Although an arm-holding contest sounds harmless enough that I might do it if challenged. At least you won, right?

  4. Hysterical, I love absurd couple moments.
    That skirt is amazing, lots of great color, nice volume, but a lovely finished waist. I can’t handle flippy midi-skirts with elastic waists… It’s probably something I should work on getting over since there are so many good ones to be thrifted…

  5. Haha! That’s so funny, and it sounds like something my husband and I would do. I’m glad you won!!

    You skirt is so freaking cute. I came thisclose to buying one like that at Goodwill the other day.

  6. This sounds like something Kev and I would do! So silly, but we’re both so competitive and stubborn (both Scorpios…eek!). I’m glad you won 🙂

    I love that this outfit is completely thrifted! That skirt is so cute, and I feel like it’s something a lot of people would pass up and you show how much potential it has! You styled it so well 🙂 Adorable as always.

    • I’m totally a Scorpio, and my husband is one of those that is right on the edge of being one. Oh the stubbornness! While I don’t always put much thought into astrology, it’s interesting how dead on it can be at times haha!

  7. I have gotten in those kind of stupid conversations/arguments with my hubby too…maybe the real problem is that two stubborn people shouldn’t be married, hehe 😉

    Also…one of the outfits I just packed for my trip is a striped 3/4 sleeve top and floral maxi skirt. SWEAR I wasn’t copying. Honest. We just think that much alike.

    ❤ cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  8. Patten and stripes, yay! And you are a woman after my own heart with all that thrifting (and the stubbornness too, I’m afraid). Glad you won 🙂

  9. Love this skirt. FYI that is exactly the type of stupidly stubborn argument Kent & I would have. I usually win though because I get real competitive about silly things like that. Please tell me you guys went ahead and ate dinner or something with yours arms over your head 🙂

  10. Haha! That is hilarious! I once ripped a perfectly good pair of jeans, scraped my knee, and jammed my toe while racing my husband back to the car (I ran into a cement parking bumper)!

Leave a Reply

