The Not So Perfect Perfectionist Kelley

Sandals: Thrifted –  Dress: Thrifted Sweater: Thrifted

You know how sometimes you have those days where EVERYTHING goes right?  Well, yesterday was the opposite of that for me.  I was doing something for work that took me much longer than I thought it would.  So by the time I finished, I was tired, flailing myself on the bed like a two year old, and declaring to the world (AKA my husband) that I deserved to take a break in between work and starting all of the cooking that I needed to do before we headed to our weekly community group potluck (Wow, that sounds REALLY communistic when I type it out like that… weird…).

So what did I do?  I took a break of course.  Even though I really didn’t have time, I plopped down on the bed, cuddled with my husband, watched an episode of Frasier on Netflix, and stuffed lime flavored potato chips in my mouth (Okay, so at this point everything WAS obviously going right.)  And then when I realized that I had like an hour and a half to do more than 2 hours of cooking, I did something you should NEVER do while cooking, I rushed.

I burned the cookies I made (like BLACK, smoke coming off of them burnt), ruined half of the potatoes I made for dinner, forgot to read the chapter that we would be discussing in our group that night, and was STILL in the kitchen with no makeup on, my hair a disheveled ratted mess, and my outfit NOT ready to go, about 15 minutes AFTER we should have left.

At that point I declared (I was doing a lot of declaring that night…) that we were NOT going to community group.  Then, when my husband agreed I said “UGH!  We HAVE to go.” (Poor husband). So we went.  We were almost 20 minutes late, but we went.  And you know what?  We had a great time.  Nobody cared that I didn’t have cookies to offer, that my hair was a mess, or that I hadn’t read the chapter.  They were just happy that we were there, and we were happy that we had gone.

I know this is a longer post than I usually write, but I just wanted to say that I have awesome friends (and obviously an awesome husband that puts up with my crazy haha). And next time I’m freaking out and trying to make everything perfect, I just need to remember that I’m NOT perfect, and I have people around me that love me anyway 🙂

-The Not So Perfect Perfectionist Kelley

 

P.S.  These outfit photos were obviously NOT taken yesterday… There were NO photos taken yesterday thank goodness 😉

21 thoughts on “The Not So Perfect Perfectionist Kelley

  1. Can soooooooooooooo relate to this story with my crazy life right now. THey are dramatic and frustrating moments when they happen…but don’t you think they always teach you something valuable? 🙂 I’m glad you could still have a really fun time at your community group, and that you’ve got such a sweet man on your arm.

    LOVE how relaxed the sweater makes the outfit,even though you’re wearing lace. Terrifically fun.

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  2. What a great post Kelley. We are all imperfect and it is great to just accept that. I’m glad you had a great time despite the stress it caused. This dress is really pretty! I love the eyelets and the color!

  3. Aww, I’m sure everyone can relate to your story!
    I think some of my best memories with friends are from evenings when I initially didn’t want wo leave the house.

    Your belt is amazing!

  4. Cute dress! Ugh, I hate those days. I’m glad you made it through and that you had a good time in the end! That’s a good thing to keep in mind. I have a lot of trouble when things don’t go to plan.

  5. Love the skirt of this dress!
    I had one of those really stupid days on Friday. I totally get it. Sometimes you just need to wail about how dumb everything is and punch some pillows. We still love you.
    On days like that there is nothing wrong with stopping by the grocery to pick up some store bought cookies just so that you have something to offer. 🙂

  6. I have those days sometimes! It’s no fun. Glad you still had a good time even though everything leading up to it wasn’t so great. I love the mint colored dress and the adorable sweater you’re wearing with it! This outfit is so lovely!

  7. Such a great outfit…love the mix of patterns and textures. I too try so hard to be the perfect super mom…sometimes I just have to stop and remember that people love me for just who I am!!

  8. Haha, this made me laugh because it sounds like a typical night for me! I always procrastinate getting ready and then end up rushing and panicking within the last 10 minutes. I’m glad you ended up going and had a great time, and it’s true, nobody cares how you show up as long as you’re there 🙂

    You look adorable – and look at you in a completely thrifted outfit! Love it!

    Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

