The Neon Belt Loving Kelley

I’m LOVING pops of neon right now, and I’ve been wanting a neon belt like THIS for months.  However, as you all know, I could never bring myself to pay anywhere near $20 for a piece of leather that I’m going to buckle around my waist.  So, I decided to get crafty and make my own.

I went to Goodwill, picked up a white belt for $0.50, headed to Walmart and grabbed a can of neon spray paint for $3.50, and got to work. I REALLY enjoyed the result!

What’s that you say? You want to make one of your own?  Well then, get ready for the easiest DIY you’ve EVER seen?  Here goes!

 

See, told you it was easy!  Here are a couple of things to keep in mind though:

1.  Use a white belt or you will have a REALLY hard time getting a nice bright neon finish.

2. I know it’s hard, but PLEASE wait at least 1-2 hours (over night would be even better) before using the belt or the paint will not stay put!

-The Neon Belt Loving Kelley

38 thoughts on “The Neon Belt Loving Kelley

  1. Great idea! I bought into the neon trend yesterday with a bargain pair of neon pink flats and they perk me up everytime I put them on! Hope the weather improves in Scotland to wear them properly though!

  2. I love it!! I have a belt that I never wear because I’m not a fan of the color. It isn’t white, so I can’t get neon, but if I get any wearable color, it would be better than it is now. I’m going to try it! THANK YOU!

  3. Shut up! That is frickin’ brilliant. I love a pop of neon too (as well as full on neon, really) but like you, I’m not about to pay full price for the trend. This is such a fantastic idea though – I’m definitely going to have to try it!

  4. You’re right! I do want to make one for my very own! I love neon too, but only on accessories. I don’t think I can pull it off in large quantities.

    Wren

  5. Adorable! Look at you all crafty and creative!! I absolutely LOVE that belt and that you made it for $4 🙂 Looks really good with that shirt too. Oh, and love your manicure!

  6. This belt is fantastic, I love the yellow! Spray painted an old necklace neon green the other day, but have yet to get up the courage to wear it. This is inspiring me.

  7. Nice job! Love the color you chose! Wondering if the paint will crack, that happened to a pair of boots I spray painted for a costume once. I did not wait this long before wearing them though… Was the belt plastic to begin with?

    • The belt I used was leather, and it hasn’t cracked yet (I’ve worn it about three times so far). But if it does end up cracking, I’ll probably just give it another quick spray because I have SO much spray paint left haha!

  8. This is a great DIY Kelley! Oftentimes the best ones are the easiest. 😉 I should try this with some pink paint! Thank you for taking a moment to stop by and say hello.

  9. Pingback: The Husband Loving Kelley « Threads and Buttons

  10. Pingback: The Smokey Reflective Kelley « Threads and Buttons

Leave a Reply

