The Fourth Thriftly Inspired Kelley

Colorblock Dress

(Want to see a little more? Check out a full post for this inspiration piece HERE.)

For more info on the story behind the Thrifted Inspiration series, check out this post!

Bargain Beauty: This Colorblocked Shift Dress from Forever21 is VERY similar in shape to the inspiration piece.  And while it does have a bit less color than the dress that prompted this post, I really love the contrasting colorblock between the white and BRIGHT blue.  Not to mention the fact that it’s only $17.80!  In my book, anything under $20 is always a great deal for a dress, because it’s practically a whole outfit in and of itself.  If you’ve really been wanting to try the colorblocking trend, but you don’t want to spend a fortune on any one piece, afraid that the trend will fade as soon as you hand over your hard earned cash, I would give this one a try!  You get to give colorblocking a go without having to skip your next three meals 😉

Lavishly Lovely:  Believe it or not, this Colorblock Chiffon A-Line Dress is from Kohl’s.  In all honesty, I probably wouldn’t have thought that this dress was anything too amazing just because I’m not usually a huge Kohl’s fan, but I saw somebody wearing this dress on Easter Sunday at church and it was AMAZING!  I was shocked when she told me where she got it!  While its a-line shape is different from the inspiration piece (in a very sweet way), its three-tiered colorblocking pattern and blue/green color palette is similar. I also really love the adorable pleats, and the fact that this dress is currently ON SALE!  It’s $38.40 down from $64.00!

-The Fourth Thriftly Inspired Kelley

P.S.  There are SO many great colorblocked pieces out right now that it was hard for me to pick just two!  To see more of the colorblocking pieces that I’m currently loving (as well as other items that are catching my fancy), you can always check out the Threads and Buttons Currently Obsessed page!

15 thoughts on “The Fourth Thriftly Inspired Kelley

  1. Really cute dress, Kelly…it looks absolutely adorable on you…and I love those blues/greens together. Colour blocking is way in, and I’m love your mod/retro take on it!

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

    Enter my Shabby Apple GIVEAWAY!!!

  2. Oooogh SO pretty! I love your thrifted version, it looks so cute & retro, but the chiffon is also really pretty. And I’m SO glad to see you back in the blogosphere, I have to say, I was starting to get paranoid that you didn’t like me anymore 🙂

    Annie
    The Other Side of Gray

    • I know! I always TRY to find things that are at least approaching affordable, but sometimes there is something too similar to the original or too totally lavishly lovely not to share, even if the price is a bit high. This time it worked out well because this lavish dress was on sale 🙂

  3. LOVE that last dress! i have a 30% coupon to kohls – I need to go!! and I have those same purple flats. : ) love them! (and your dress too!)

Leave a Reply

