The Non-Spanish Speaking Kelley

Skirt: Thrifted (Similar) Top: Gift from sister (H&M)  Necklace: Forever21 (Similar)

My younger sister got me this shirt when she came to visit at Christmas time.  She was actually REALLY sneaky about it. You see, she is pregnant for the first time (and she’s the first one of all of us siblings to have a kiddo so we’re all pretty excited), so her, my older sister, and I all went out to the mall to shop for some baby items and maternity clothes.

While browsing around H&M, I saw this loose, comfy cropped top and told her I thought it would be GREAT for her soon to be growing belly.  I added that that it would be an awesome buy because it could work as maternity wear but was still super fashionable/on trend with the cropped shape and the buttons down the back, in fact, I would even wear it!

So, she took the shirt and a few other items, went into the dressing room to try them all on, modeled them for us, and went to the checkout line with her favorites (including this top).  Now what I haven’t told you is that both of the sisters I was shopping with happen to speak Spanish pretty fluently (and quite often with each other), while I speak…. well, “nada”. So, apparently while my sister was trying the cropped top on she was telling my older sister that she didn’t really like it for her, but she was just going to pretend she did, and then she would buy it for me.  She said that RIGHT in front of me… Little brat (a brat with good taste…).

So, long story short, we walk out of H&M and my sister hands me the shirt.  I was totally confused, but I’m pretty sure my sisters just laughed at me.  Oh well, Merry Christmas to me. Also, I need to learn Spanish!

-The Non-Spanish Speaking Kelley

52 thoughts on “The Non-Spanish Speaking Kelley

  1. Ha! If my sister tries to pull something like that (I hope she would, because she has impeccable taste), she would speak German. Everybody in my family speaks German except for me 😦

    It is a gorgeous top though, and I love it paired with the maxi skirt.

  2. Haha, what a cute story! The bird print is adorable. Many of my co-workers are Russian and speak it at the office…I have no clue what they’re saying and it drives me nuts!

    -Sharon

  3. I love this outfit!! It’s so flowly and gorgeous! And that is such a cute top. Haha, oh sisters. I only have one, so that wouldn’t work out so well for her unless she was going to talk to herself about it haha 🙂

  4. FINALLY!!! I have been waiting to see this top on here forever! I think you look adorable! This shirt was not my style but you always find a way to make clothes that scare me to even try, look awesome!

  5. You look adorable! Love the shirt, your sister DOES have great taste. Super sweet of her to surprise you like that 🙂
    I love it with the maxi skirt too.

  6. Haha, that’s cute. And you KNOW I’m jealous of that shirt! 🙂

    You look great in a maxi skirt, great thrift find! Enjoy your weekend, Kelley.

Leave a Reply

