The Nineteenth Photobooth Friday Kelley

I know I’m ready for some Photobooth Friday!  Are YOU?!

Denim Dress: Thrifted (Similar) – Necklace: Gift Belt: DIY shown HERE

See that cup up there?  The awesomely cool Spiderman one with that blue icepack-like middle lining to keep it cool?  Yea, that’s been sitting in our fridge unused for about 3 years. No, we don’t have a 5 year old boy that I’ve been hiding from you. No, we didn’t steal this cup from somebody else’s five year old boy.  It’s OUR cup.

See, in the first couple years of our marriage, my husband and I were cheap college students.  We were also both working, which meant that in order to go to school full time and still fit in work, we had to be at school from 6:30am to about 9 or 10pm a couple of days a week.  That means we had to eat just about all of our meals on campus on school days.  But, being the cheapskates we were, we weren’t willing to spend a million bucks on school cafeteria food that wasn’t really all that good anyways.

So, each time we went to school, we would pack a cooler of food, fill it with ice packs, and always include our stay-cool Spiderman cup full of our beverage of choice.  Then, around noon or so, we would meet in our car and have a parking lot picnic.  Romantic huh?

We don’t really need it anymore, and like I said, we haven’t used it in about 3 years, but for some reason I just can’t bring myself to get rid of this cup.  Each time I open the fridge it’s a little reminder of those soon to be far off college years and the parking lot picnics.  As silly as those picnics were, I think they’ll always hold a special place in my heart 🙂

-The Nineteenth Photobooth Friday Kelley

*For more info on the story behind Photobooth Friday, check out the very first Photobooth Friday post!

10 thoughts on “The Nineteenth Photobooth Friday Kelley

  1. Your photobooth photos always make me smile! That is too funny about the Spiderman cup. It’s so sweet that you and your hubby had parking lot picnics so I can see why you can’t part with the cup. Have a great weekend, Kelley!

    -Sharon

  2. That’s so sweet. 🙂 When my husband and I got married, we were pretty dang poor and we would meet at one of the parks in town every work day for a car picnic. 🙂

    • Sorry I am replying to a post, (can not get computer to do OWN post lol) but I had to respond. This is such a great stroy! It shows how some little item can mean so much to us, and all the memories it brings back, Thanks for sharing this

  3. The denim dress is awesome! And every time I turn around (figuratively) you are rocking that neon belt in another awesome way.

    Wren

  4. Aww, that’s so sweet!! Love this outfit. You and that neon belt are so fabulous! I hope you’re having a lovely weekend 🙂

  5. This is such a sweet post…I’d love to hear more about how marriage was during college, as my boyfrriend & I were going to wait until after I finished uni to get married… beautiful outfit too.

Leave a Reply

