The Backwards Dirt Wearing Kelley

Sandals: Target Dress (worn as skirt): Ross Belt: Thrifted Top: Thrifted Necklace: Spray painted

You know how sometimes I wear skirts as dresses (like here, here, and here)?  Well, I’m also a huge fan of wearing dresses as skirts.  Anything to S-T-R-E-T-C-H my closet and budget 😉

Wearing dresses as skirts can be awesome, but let me just give you a few pieces of advice for those of you who are thinking about trying it:

  1. If you fold the top of the dress under, DO NOT forget to belt it… if you do forget, it will likely fall down and you’ll be pulling it up throughout the day.
  2. If you do forget to belt it, DO NOT get on stage in front of your whole church and sing on Sunday morning… if you do, you will spend every song awkwardly pulling your skirt up and praying to God that you don’t give the 9am service a show that they NEVER expected to see at church.

True stories guys.  Learn from my mistakes 😉

-The Backwards Dirt Wearing Kelley

P.S.  You see what I did with that post title there?  Yea?  Well, aren’t you smart and clever!

17 thoughts on “The Backwards Dirt Wearing Kelley

  1. Haha Kelley, lesson learned! I’ve done the dresses as skirts thing but never the other way around…probably because I own entirely too many mini skirts that could never become a dress!

    -Sharon
    Enter to win a clutch!

  2. AW! I am so glad you clarified the title. I spent your post hoping no dirt touched these lovely polka dots or great pink “skirt”! Love this pretty and casual look Kelley!

  3. I love this outfit. For some reason I always think I need to tuck my shirts/blouse into my maxi skirts. But this look just changed my mind! I love this.
    Also. I must not be smart and clever and I have been staring at the name of this post and trying to get it but I can’t. Haha!

    • Haha, you are too smart and clever, the title is just dumb, that’s all. Last time I wore a skirt as a dress my husband said I was wearing dirt (skirt + dress) and I named a blog post after that. This time I’m doing it the other way around, hence “backward” dirt wearing. See, told you it was dumb 😉

  4. Ooo that thistle pink colour is so unique and pretty…love th way you belted your top to create a peplum too!

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

    Enter my HANDBAG GIVEAWAY!!!

  5. Hi Kelley! Haven’t been by here since my wedding… you look adorable! Love all your recent outfit posts. I have never worn a dress as a skirt, but this is giving me all sorts of inspiration! I have a green maxi dress that I will have to try wearing like this 🙂

    Hope you’re having a lovely weekend!

  6. Pingback: The Fifth Thriftly Inspired Kelley | Threads and Buttons

Leave a Reply

