The Big City Kelley

Necklace: Gift Chucks: Target (Similar Jeans: Old Navy (Similar) Tank: Thrifted  Sweater: Thrifted

My Husband and I just went to New York City and Washington DC for the very first time last week!  It was a business trip for him, and I just tagged along. After a few days, he was done working and we got to have some fun.

New York was a blast!  We walked around Time Square, spent WAY too much time in toy stores (Toys R Us and FAO Schwarz), and explored Central Park.

Although they were supposed to be having a heatwave in New York, it was raining for 98% of the time that we were there (which meant my hair looked as big and frizzy as it does in the above photos for 98% of the time that we were there). This would have been completely fine, except that we were walking everywhere and hadn’t planned for rainy weather.  True story, about 10 minutes after taking these Central Park photos it started POURING!  I had to take off my sweater to protect the camera and we took refuge (and found lunch) in a nearby Chipotle.

About 30 minutes later we were quite the site, walking 16 city blocks to our second hotel in a downpour.  I bet it was funny for anyone who may have been watching two small-town kids desperately trying to hail a cab in the rain on the corner of Fifth Avenue and Twenty First St.  However, for us, dragging around two suitcases, carrying thousands of dollars of camera equipment in a not-so-waterproof backpack, and desperately trying to keep our cheap umbrellas from breaking each time a gust of wind blew was not the BEST 20+ minutes of our lives.

Dear NYC, next time we come to visit, please do us the courtesy of sticking to the weather predicted. Thanks.

-The Big City Kelley

10 thoughts on “The Big City Kelley

  1. Well apart from the rain, it sounds like you had fun!! I’m glad you were able to tag along on the business trip and that the two of you had some tourist/vacation time too 🙂

  2. Oh isn’t it always like this? You believe the weather forecast and then the weather changes as soon as you set one foot out of your hotel. I experienced the same phenomenon in Budapest last year 😉
    However it looks like you had a nice time, I love the photos! I’d love to visit NY too one day.
    Also your outfit is the perfect traveling and sightseeing look, comfy and cute! I like the cardi a lot! 🙂

  3. Ugh, I need to get my man a job where he makes business trips! That sounds like so much fun 🙂 I’ve missed your posts though so don’t stay out of town for too long.

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

    • FINALLY a post! Missed you Kelley! Glad you both had fun all in all, I bet it reminded you of home huh? rain rain rain…

  4. Oh, I just came back from a trip to these two cities myself! We spent a week in each one of them and felt that heat wave more than did us good! I would have loved to share a bit of the heat with you and get some of your rain in return if I could have, haha. It was truely exhausting exploring these cities in 100+ degree weather.

    Your picture with the koala bear is too cute for words! I love those animals, but have you ever seen one mad? Their theeth are horrifying!! x

  5. hahaha. Sounds like an adventure. On my recent trip to Ireland, I just had to get used to ALWAYS being wet – embrace the messy hair,wear wool socks, and never leave the house without my rain jacket. 🙂

Leave a Reply

