The Goal Making Kelley

Yes, I know that 2012 is almost over, so setting goals for “2012” might seem silly.  However, after last week’s “Stagnate Kelley” post, I decided it was time to get my rear in gear and start doing the things I really want to do (by the way, thanks for all of your kind and supportive comments on that post, they meant SO much to me!).  Then I read Elsie’s “Four Simple Goals (Before 2013)” post, and thought, “What better way to make sure I actually pursue the things I want to, than to post them on the internet where everyone can see them and keep me accountable?!”

Elsie suggested we choose 4 simple “activity oriented” goals.  So, here are my four simple goals for the rest of the year…

1. Be Proactive With Blogging And Photography:  I’ve decided (something that should have been obvious a LONG time ago) that no matter what I’m doing, I’m only going to get out what I put in.  I may be a perfectionist, but that has NEVER meant that I’m perfect at something on the first, second, or even third go round.  If there is something that I’m magically or naturally really good at, I have yet to find it.  I’ve always had to work hard to be good at the things I love, and photography and blogging is no exception to this rule. Yes, I’ve come a long way, but there’s so much more I can do! So, my plan is to work harder and do even more with all things blogging and photography related this year.

2. Try New Things: Yes, this is scary, and yes, I will likely face many failures along the way, but I WANT to try new things. A few blog posts might flop, dinners made with new recipes may end up in the trash, I might end up in situations that I don’t fully know how to deal with, but I’m going to try!

3. Read: How often did I complain about all the books I HAD to read in college and dream about all of the things I WANTED to read?  Well, now that I don’t have mounds of homework, reading of any kind has fallen off to the wayside.  As somebody who is extremely passionate about learning and education, my lack of reading makes me sad! So, bring on the blogs, books, magazines, and more, I’m ready to learn something new!

4. Be Creative: This could mean being crafty, trying something new with photography (oh look at that, hitting goals 1, 2, and 4 all in one go!), working more with music, fixing up the house, putting together more interesting outfits, creating new recipes, and so much more! I always have the urge to be creative, but I very rarely do anything about it.  I want that to change!

Do you guys have any goals for the end of the year?  I’d love to hear about them!

-The Goal Making Kelley

16 thoughts on “The Goal Making Kelley

  1. What awesome goals! I love the idea of making a short list of goals to complete before the end of the year. Good luck with yours; I am sure you will accomplish them all 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I think I need the list to feel a little bit better about the things I have accomplished by the end of the year. If I meet the goals, I’ll know for SURE that I’ve been spending time doing what’s important to me 🙂

  2. I’ve been sort of subconsciously working on all of these things this year after reading The Happiness Project – I think they’re great goals that can increase overall satisfaction and happiness in life. Sometimes it takes a little pushing and stretching and discomfort to really achieve that! Plus you’ll have fun in the meantime. And I totally agree with you on #1 – I’ve been working on putting in more and definitely find I’m getting more out…

  3. I just made a list of goals at the beginning of the month. My husband was starting school again and I thought it was a great time for me to get my behind in gear too! I’m trying to wake up early (nearly impossible), practice photography, run more, go to bed with a clean kitchen, and dress cute on the weekends (I get to wear scrubs all week!). I love making goals and having something to work toward. Good luck with all of yours!

  4. These are great goals Kelley!! I need to work on trying new things too, sometimes I get so stuck in my habits and routines. I recently wrote out a list of small goals I want to accomplish every day and I keep it in my planner where I can see it. It’s helped me not to get too overwhelmed with things like job searching (which is NOT fun).

  5. I love this, Kelley! I think it’s important to be intentional with things we want to accomplish. it’s so easy to let things go by the wayside in the hussle and bussle of life!

    My two goals for the rest of this year are: finish my first semester of grad school successfully and, during my break between semesters which most happens at the end of this year, to read all the books I had to put to the side when the semester started. Also, I have quite a few things to finish knitting. OH, and a lot of alteration to make on clothes.

    Okay, I need to stop listing things! Haha… I do love a list.

    • LOL I KNOW! It was SO hard to pick only four things for this list. There are so many things that I want to accomplish (I totally have knitting and sew projects that I need to work on too), but if my list is too long and not prioritized I’m afraid I’ll end up doing everything “half-way” or at least half as well as it should be done, you know? I do love me a good long to do list though 😉

  6. it’s never too late to set goals! and who knows, the seeds that you start right now might inspire something else for 2013! huzzah!

    good luck with your goals, and i’ll enjoy the fruits of them, over here, as your blog-reader, and cheer you on!

Leave a Reply

