The Pretty Old Kelley

Shoes: Old Navy – Necklace: Forever21 (Similar on SALE for $6!) Glasses: Warby Parker (Webb)

Everything Else: Thrifted

If you follow me on Twitter, you’ve heard about the fact that I’ve started tutoring (we’ll talk more about that later)! Well, this is the outfit I wore while tutoring a little girl yesterday and she told me I looked pretty.  When you get a compliment like that from an eight year-old, you can be pretty certain it’s genuine (I’ve had PLENTY of children point out lots of zits, extra round bellies, etc… They’re not afraid to speak the truth.).

However, a little bit later the same little girl asked me how old I was, and when I replied, “78”, she said something along the lines of, “Oh, that’s what I thought. I’m EIGHT!”

So yeah, if I’m going to fully put my trust in her judgement and ideas, I have to take the bad along with the good:

I’m 78… but at least I’m a really pretty 78-year-old 😉

Have you ever experienced an embarrassing child moment?

-The Pretty Old Kelley

16 thoughts on “The Pretty Old Kelley

  1. Haha, kids are so funny!! You do look really pretty in that outfit! I love the way you paired the flowy top with a structured skirts – what a fantastic look 🙂

  2. LMAO! Oh kids. Having three of my own, I can concur about your statement of children. And mine are my own and their honesty holds no limits, I assure you. I loooooove your look today Kelley! The polka dot blouse is very pretty with the olive skirt!

  3. This makes me miss the 7 year old I nannied for a year. Whenever she told me she liked some part of my outfit, I was thrilled. She has pretty great style for a 7 year old, so I knew it was legit. – Leah

    leahwise.wordpress,com

  4. Oh, goodness, yes. But I have ample opportunity to be embarrassed by children — I have three of my own.

    I think the most embarrassing moment (and it wasn’t really SUPER embarrassing … or, maybe I don’t embarrass easily), but my second son came up to me while we were at church, patted my belly, and told me that I looked like I had a baby growing in my belly.

    And I didn’t (don’t).

  5. My daughter’s getting to the age where she’s starting to notice “off” things about people…the other day she asked me what was on the mail ladies face (as she was walking away to get my parcel)…it was a birthmark…I just ignored Vyla cuz I didn’t know what to do!! haha
    Now onto your outfit…I love seeing how people wear flats and still look cute…this is perfect!

  6. You were asking for that one 😉
    My 3 year old daughter is just getting to the stage where she can innocently say some fairly offensive things *cringe*
    I really like the way your necklace dips down past the top of your skirt, nice balance 🙂

Leave a Reply

