The Knitting Kelley

It shouldn’t be a secret at this point that I LOVE to knit. I first learned how about two years ago, and while I played around with it off and on during the first year, it’s something I’ve grown to love during the second year. I almost always carry some kind of knitting project with me where ever I go, and yes… I know this makes me seem like an old lady… In case you’re wondering I also constantly have a hanky in my pocket and I’ve been known to stash hard candy in every area of my purse.

Moving on… For the last few years I’ve enjoyed learning new stitches, trying new patterns, and making gifts for myself and others

The baby blanket I made for my little sister the Christmas before her son was born.

One of the first scarves I knit for myself.

The sweater dress I knit for my older sister (her little girl still hasn’t been born yet).

All this to say, knitting is awesome and I’m so glad I decided to take the plunge and try it out, no matter how many old lady jokes I have to put up with. I think it’s safe to say that it’s something I’ll be doing, and fully enjoying, for a LONG time.

Because I love it so much, I thought those of you who haven’t already caught the knitting bug might be interesting in giving it a try. So, I wanted to let you know that I’ve started doing a series of “Knitting Fundamental” tutorials over at Crafttuts+. They’re video tutorials in which I walk you through the very first steps in knitting like casting-on and doing the knit stitch. I promise, they’re super simple, and if you check them out, you’ll be knitting in no time. The first two tutorials of the series have already been published (Casting-on and The Knit Stitch), and there will more soon.

I went to school to become a teacher, so helping people learn is one of my biggest passions. If I can help people learn about something I absolutely LOVE, like knitting, that’s just the icing on the cake!

Are you a knitter? Do you have a slight (or not so slight) knitting obsession? What knitting projects are you loving lately? Do you want to learn how to knit? Tell me all about it in the comment section below!

-The Knitting Kelley

20 thoughts on “The Knitting Kelley

  1. I am totally a knitter. And a yarn-dyer! I have shop, but I’ve been contemplating if I should close it or not. I don’t have the time to build it up, and I’ve learned two things since I’ve opened my etsy shop: I like dyeing for fun more than for business, and I love knitting more than I love dyeing. So, yeah.

    I’ve been knitting for 6+ years now and I am sad if I can’t knit every day. Is that weird? You might understand.

    Are you on Ravelry yet?!

    • Wow that’s WAY longer than me. And I totally understand that whole, “Love if for fun and not so much for work” thing. It happens.

      I am on Ravelry, but I’m a HORRIBLE member that has done nothing but add patterns to my library as of yet. My name is kyaews on there, what’s yours?

  2. I love to knit! I’m working on a baby blanket right now for my cousin who’s expecting. That sweater dress is adorable, and your tutorials are awesome!!

  3. I tool a fiber arts class during my last semester of college and learned to knit (and crochet, weave, and quilt). It’s so relaxing. I’m currently working on a scarf with some wool yarn I bought in Ireland.

  4. Knitting is my favorite thing to do after a long day! I turn on a movie & knit… it always relaxes me! And of course it is so fun to make cute things! I made a hat for my cousin’s little girl a couple of months ago, she loved it & that made me so happy! 🙂

    • I love it when people enjoy the things I make for them! And yes, knitting + watching a great show (we’re talking Doctor Who, Downton Abbey, How I Met Your Mother…) = most relaxing thing EVER!

  5. AAKK! It’s been a while since I’ve stopped by your blog, but I just had to let you know how excited I am to check out your tutorials for knitting! I’m a new knit-ster and can’t wait to carry on as I’ve loved my first project so much! Thanks a bunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

