The Baked Potato Soup Making Kelley

If you follow me on Twitter, you know that yesterday’s post made me quite hungry for potatoes. I mean just look at these potatoes, don’t they make YOU hungry?

I couldn’t stop my potato craving, so I decided to make baked potato soup for dinner.  Then, I figured that I might have gotten some of you to start craving potatoes too, so I decided to share this recipe.

This soup is yummy, easy, and even quite healthy (you can check out the nutritional information below).  I originally found the recipe here, at The Slow Roasted Italian food blog.  While the recipe looked great, I changed it up a bit to fit our dietary needs and preferences.  For example, I used veggie-bacon instead of normal bacon, and veggie-broth instead of chicken broth, and voilà, a vegetarian friendly meal!

Baked Potato Soup

(Adapted from The Slow Roasted Italian)

Ingredients
5 medium potatoes
5 slices veggie bacon
1/4 tbsp vegetable oil (or less)
2 (14.5 oz) cans veggie broth
1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley
1 cup 1% milk
3/4 cup fat free cheddar cheese, grated (I use Kraft)
1/2 cup fat free sour cream
ground black pepper to taste

I promise, even my meat eating husband loved this soup! Well, I’m off to go eat some left over soup for lunch, YUM!

-The Baked Potato Soup Making Kelley

P.S. As always, I can’t vouch for the complete accuracy of the wonderful Sparks Recipe calculator, but here is what it says about this recipe:

21 thoughts on “The Baked Potato Soup Making Kelley

  1. That looks so yummy. And easy! I will be trying this. We love baked potato anything at our house.

    The baked potato soup I make involves cooking potatoes in the milk, adding chopped cauliflower and cooking until it’s soft, then pureeing it. Then you add whatever toppings to the soup that you might would add to a baked potato.

    • I thought some people might need to know what veggie bacon is, so I linked to it (you can click on it in the ingredients list). I used light life. It took a little while to crisp up, then I just broke it up a bit before adding the broth. Because you are adding liquid to it, it will get soft again, but it will still have the great flavor of crisp bacon. (Well, as close a veggie bacon can get to that flavor 😉 )

  2. Ooooo great soup idea! I’ve been on a clam chowder kick lately (aka a lot of potatoes have been consumed in the last week…) so maybe its time for me to change it up and try this yummy recipe! BTW I’m loving all the foodie yumminess you’ve been pinning on pinterest lately – hahah I’ve been repinning a lot of them. Wish I could just bake and cook all day tho! 😀

  3. It just looks so tasty! I make a version of this that’s slow cooker where you stir the cream in at the last minute. It’s so delicious…

    ❤ Cambria
    jupefashion.blogspot.com

  4. Pingback: kathastrophal

  5. Pingback: Weekend Recap & Links I Loved – Week #04/2012 | kathastrophal

Leave a comment